Black Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The base recipe is great. These adjustments worked well for me: substituted vegetable broth for the water, and only used about two and a half cups of it - I like a thick puree. I'd definitely recommend adding some salsa (1/2 - 1 cup) for some extra flavor when adding the beans. Topped it off with a little sour cream and some green onions. With some tweaking you can get some great flavors out of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I'm glad I read others' reviews before making this. I've had better & prefer spicier, but my husband liked it, & it's healthy & inexpensive to make, so I'll be making it again. I substituted just 2 cups of chicken broth for all that water & substituted 1/2 packet of mild chili seasoning instead of the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I followed a lot of the suggestions of the others who reviewed this recipe and my soup turned out yummy! I imagine following the actual recipe may have been a disaster. Here are my substitutions: Instead of green pepper, I used 1 jalapeno and about 1/4 red pepper. I didn't have cumin, so I used 1/2tsp curry powder instead. I also added 2 carrots to the pot at the same time I added the beans and water. And I only used 4 cups of water. The recipe is a good base if you have nothing else to go off of (like I didn't) and this is a super easy soup to make, especially when you only have a few random scraps of food left in your cupboard. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Way too much water and very bland. Not sure the beans should be pureed. Would NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I love this recipe but instead of all the water I used 32 oz of veggie broth. Plus I put one can of black beans in the blender to add substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellisajo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I used just one cup of water b/c I read the directions wrong and the puree came out well but 2 cups may be better. My husband and I like chunky soup so I only pureed 3/4 of the soup and mixed it in w/ the remaining veggies. SOOO delish! Made it w/ cuban midnight sandwiches as recommended in the best dinners cookbook. Lunch leftovers are superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Great base. I also used about 3 cups chicken broth and 1 cup water and sherry as recommended by another review and it was great. Topped with a little sour cream and cheese....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Like others, I think this recipe is a great starting point. I particularly like it because I don't have to soak the beans. I used chicken broth instead of water for a richer flavor. I also added oregano, sherry and instead of green pepper I used Jalapenos! I garnished with sour cream and jack cheese and chopped green onions and cilantro. Better day 2 as are most soups! Good recipe for using pantry ingredients when you don't want to go to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I added corn, diced tomatoes, and brown rice. Also used crushed red pepper and oregano. Garnished w/chips and salsa. It was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I wish I would have read the reviews before I wasted my time and food on this recipe. It was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States