Black Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Finally, I found a recipe that makes you wish you had made a double batch. This recipe is just as good if not better than the soup I had in an authentic Mexican restaurant. I decided to make it myself since it is a rare item to find in most Mexican restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This makes a great vegan black bean soup if you use vegetable stock instead of water. I had to cut the water down to 2 1/2 cups to get anything but a put of liquid, but otherwise, this was a great recipe. It tastes even better if you add some salsa when you put the beans in, the more flavorful, the better. I used some spicy garlic salsa and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Way way way too much water. This is essentially onions and beans. I boiled it for almost 45 minutes, added corn starch, nothing helped. I put it in the refrigerator for the next day and the water separated from the beans, so I poured it off. I ate the "soup" that was left with cheese and sour cream. Good, but I could have just served myself a can of black beans and saved myself the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is an easy and savory soup. I wouldn't change it a bit except that I add 1/2 tsp of chili powder. It gives it a rich, smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The basics are great for this recipe, but like everyone else said, the recipe calls for far too much water and needs more spice. I only used one cup of water, added a ton of different spices like cayenne, cumin, pepper, oregano, onion powder and garlic powder. We added cheese and ate with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I read the reviews before making this soup and reduced the amoung of water from 7 cups to 2 cups. It was still too watery and very bland. I needed too many modifications to salvage this recipe. So may modifications that the final recipe looks nothing like the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was looking for easy black bean soup and this wasn't bad, with a few modifications. I used a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies instead of the bell pepper, diced garlic out of the jar, and 2 cups of chicken broth and another cup of water. I didn't do the cumin because not a big fan but the chillies gave it a nice spice. Also, used my stick blender to puree just enough. Not sure if I needed the cup of water, though, probably will skip the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
A good basic recipe but it did need much less liquid and more flavoring in my opinion. I used chipotle powder and oregano in addition to the cumin and garlic (added the spices to the saute, not to the liquid) and only 1 cup of liquid for 1 can of beans - I would use a ratio of 1 cup chicken broth: 1 can of beans next time I make this. This soup is really good served with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
the first time i made this, it was fabulous ... but i can't remember if i followed some of the suggested modifications. second time i made it ... it was watery. would definitely use a broth instead of all the water next time. maybe cut down the liquid in general. definitely more garlic and cumin - but my family loves those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was great with a few improvements. I added mushrooms to the saute and used chicken broth instead of plain water. YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States