Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I love this recipe. It is so easy and the whole family loves it even the family members that don't like soup. I added jalapeno to mine. Also I used a meaty ham bone and just pulled the ham off the bone after simmering it the first time. I also didn't puree half the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good and easy to make. Next time I would leave out the salt and salt to taste at the end. I didn't think my ham was that salty but combined with the canned chicken broth and 2 hour cooking time, the end result was salty soup. Next time I think I'll try it with vegetable broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Good flavor, but I think the beans should soak....I simmered for well over 2 hours and they were still a little crunchy, and by then it was very very thick. I also didn't have a ham bone, so I threw in some of the ham, and 2 splashes of liquid smoke. I'll definitely try it again....but soak the beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Easy and delicious. Good basic recipe for a hearty, yummy soup. Everyone liked it. Good without the vinegar, but extra yummy with it added; it gives it more depth of flavor. Very versatile recipe that is good by itself or with any of the usual black bean soup add ins (cheese/sour cream, salsa). Also, very easy to add extra veggies for added nutrition (grated carrots, diced spinach, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Super easy and tasty, though I'm always altering it to fit any extras I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I was looking for a simple black bean soup recipe to use up some leftover ham that didn't have a huge ingredients list, as I always add my own touch to recipes and this was perfect. I soaked the beans overnight, cut down the salt as others noted, and added some cumin, a couple of different chili powders, and substituted the tomatoes for sundried tomato powder. it came out awsome. I will never buy another can of premade black bean soup again. Only gave it 4 stars as I feel the salt it suggested was way too much (perhaps the chicken broth you used was low sodium?), I also reduced the water by one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I loved it. And my family liked it. My 5 year old, 7 year old and husband ate it with corn muffins. I substituted sausage for the ham and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a fresh tomato. I only did a teaspoon of salt as I thought the broth was probably already salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
To me,it goes w/out saying to soak the beans overnight. I did find the recipe too liquid so, I added 2 cans of black beans and a can of refried beans w/ lime. I also sauteed garlic,onions,carrots,a bell pepper,grape tomatoes and celery in olive oil. I added cumin,red pepper flakes,1.5 tsp.cocoa, to the soup ( after adding the sauteed veggies.) like others suggested,I used no salt. After these additions,it turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an excellent recipe that is really a no fail one. I like soup to be hearty therefore added a can of diced tomatoes, chopped fresh peppers and chopped celery. I suggest a few dashes of hot sauce to give it a kick or even a bit of cumin for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
way too much liquid in the recipe - food processed more than half the beans and it still came out way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States