Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I love this recipe. It is so easy and the whole family loves it even the family members that don't like soup. I added jalapeno to mine. Also I used a meaty ham bone and just pulled the ham off the bone after simmering it the first time. I also didn't puree half the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good and easy to make. Next time I would leave out the salt and salt to taste at the end. I didn't think my ham was that salty but combined with the canned chicken broth and 2 hour cooking time, the end result was salty soup. Next time I think I'll try it with vegetable broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Good flavor, but I think the beans should soak....I simmered for well over 2 hours and they were still a little crunchy, and by then it was very very thick. I also didn't have a ham bone, so I threw in some of the ham, and 2 splashes of liquid smoke. I'll definitely try it again....but soak the beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Easy and delicious. Good basic recipe for a hearty, yummy soup. Everyone liked it. Good without the vinegar, but extra yummy with it added; it gives it more depth of flavor. Very versatile recipe that is good by itself or with any of the usual black bean soup add ins (cheese/sour cream, salsa). Also, very easy to add extra veggies for added nutrition (grated carrots, diced spinach, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Super easy and tasty, though I'm always altering it to fit any extras I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I was looking for a simple black bean soup recipe to use up some leftover ham that didn't have a huge ingredients list, as I always add my own touch to recipes and this was perfect. I soaked the beans overnight, cut down the salt as others noted, and added some cumin, a couple of different chili powders, and substituted the tomatoes for sundried tomato powder. it came out awsome. I will never buy another can of premade black bean soup again. Only gave it 4 stars as I feel the salt it suggested was way too much (perhaps the chicken broth you used was low sodium?), I also reduced the water by one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I loved it. And my family liked it. My 5 year old, 7 year old and husband ate it with corn muffins. I substituted sausage for the ham and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a fresh tomato. I only did a teaspoon of salt as I thought the broth was probably already salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
To me,it goes w/out saying to soak the beans overnight. I did find the recipe too liquid so, I added 2 cans of black beans and a can of refried beans w/ lime. I also sauteed garlic,onions,carrots,a bell pepper,grape tomatoes and celery in olive oil. I added cumin,red pepper flakes,1.5 tsp.cocoa, to the soup ( after adding the sauteed veggies.) like others suggested,I used no salt. After these additions,it turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an excellent recipe that is really a no fail one. I like soup to be hearty therefore added a can of diced tomatoes, chopped fresh peppers and chopped celery. I suggest a few dashes of hot sauce to give it a kick or even a bit of cumin for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
way too much liquid in the recipe - food processed more than half the beans and it still came out way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States