Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe was delicious. I substituted the ham for some spicy smoked sausage and added some garlic and WOW! I have been looking for a black bean soup recipe like this and lucked out with this one. I served it with some fresh home made bread. P.S soaking beans overnight cuts down on cooking time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was so easy to make. I soaked the beans for extra tenderness, and ended up using a smoked turkey leg instead of the ham bone. When it was done, I pulled the meat off the bone and used that instead of the cubed ham. I also added garlic, black pepper, and a little cayenne, as well as a little extra salt since the turkey was not as salty as a ham bone would have been. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it was really quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I had been looking for a basic recipe for black bean soup. I first tried this recipe as written and didn't cover the pot. It took an extra hour to cook the beans. I loved the soup, as did my family. I also added tabasco. This time, I'm making it without the vinegar, to make it a basic black bean soup. It still tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very good soup. We made it with just the ham hock, and without the ham. Also, being from New Mexico, we added quite a bit of spice. We used a can of Rotel instead of the tomato, added some crushed red pepper, red chili powder and habanero powder to give it some kick. Served it with green chile cornbread. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Very good! I did reduce the amount of water and I added about a teaspoon of cocoa. And DO NOT leave out the vinegar, it gives the soup the best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was very good (will make anything to use up all this ham). I had a strong urge to use my food processor to puree some of the beans but didn't. I didn't think it needed a full TBS of salt. We added some spices. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
OMG!! This is beyond great, 5 stars is not nearly enough I have eaten "hocks & beans" all my life - but I have never had anything close to this. Absolutely delish! I used pintos & omitted the vinegar, a new all time favorite, thank you for sharing... =p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Very good. I followed other comments and replaced the vinegar with Tabasco and used Rotel tomatoes in placed of fresh. I also substituted smoked sausage for the ham bone and ham. Next time I am adding more smoked sausage and beans (I like a thicker soup) and using a bit less Tabasco if I use Rotel, but the same amount if regular canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I did not like the vinegar in there at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I'd give this 5 stars for taste, but I did make a few changes. I hadn't read the reviews before I made this, but I thought between the ham bones and chicken broth, it probably wouldn't need that much salt, so I didn't put any in at all until after the sauteed veggies and ham were added, then just sprinkled some in to taste. I also shook in some cumin seeds and red pepper flakes. In addition to the chopped tomatoes (I used 4 Roma tomatoes), I added a can (14.5 oz.)of diced tomatoes, with juice. I also didn't bother pureeing some of the beans. The beans were not soft enough after 2 1/2 hours total, so next time I will either cook them for a longer time before I add the other things, or will soak them overnight. Thanks for the great soup idea, I really love this with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States