Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I did not like the vinegar in there at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was very good (will make anything to use up all this ham). I had a strong urge to use my food processor to puree some of the beans but didn't. I didn't think it needed a full TBS of salt. We added some spices. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Excellent! Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mimi'sCookingthyme
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I used a smoked ham bone and a little less water (too soupy). It is a very good base soup. I'll make it again. I soaked the beans for 8 hours and they were super soft after 1 hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I simmered the beans for a really long time and they were still kind of hard... There is really no need to add any salt to this recipe, as it is salty enough. It was pretty good. But I probably won't make it again. I will stick with navy or pinto beans... They are much softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Very good! I did reduce the amount of water and I added about a teaspoon of cocoa. And DO NOT leave out the vinegar, it gives the soup the best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe was delicious. I substituted the ham for some spicy smoked sausage and added some garlic and WOW! I have been looking for a black bean soup recipe like this and lucked out with this one. I served it with some fresh home made bread. P.S soaking beans overnight cuts down on cooking time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I had been looking for a really good black bean soup and I finally found it! This was just delicious. Such a great flavor. Add a little dry sherry to the soup in the bowl and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Everyone loved this soup. I did soak the beans prior to preparing the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe. A delicious soup. At the table we added tabasco. My husband thought the soup was too salty so I might omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent! This was brilliant for our leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States