Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I used this as a guide and it was great. I pureed all the beans and used two ham hocks, and all chicken stock. Added garlic garlic from Tastefully Simple, some Bacon Bacon as well. Cooked another cup of beans and transferred all to crock pot and let cook all day. No tomatoes, did three caps of white vinegar. Oh, I added a little Port..(splash)..Served all over a bed of leftover Spanish Rice and drizzled sour cream over the top. Great basic recipe! Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darnelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I used smoked pork shanks and only used 1-1/2 tsp salt. Still very salty. Will not add any salt next time. Forgot all about adding vinegar. oops. Recipe overall was not what I was looking for, but ok. Will try to tweak it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Very good. I followed other comments and replaced the vinegar with Tabasco and used Rotel tomatoes in placed of fresh. I also substituted smoked sausage for the ham bone and ham. Next time I am adding more smoked sausage and beans (I like a thicker soup) and using a bit less Tabasco if I use Rotel, but the same amount if regular canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is a really good soup! I cooked the beans in chicken broth, and I sauteed chicken with the onions and tomatoes instead of ham. I also added a some minced garlic and some red pepper. Very good! I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe did not work out well for me at all. It was extremely salty and not like a soup at all. Will not attempt to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Too much salt! Next time I'll decrease it to 1 teaspoon, I think. It's a good soup anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was so easy to make. I soaked the beans for extra tenderness, and ended up using a smoked turkey leg instead of the ham bone. When it was done, I pulled the meat off the bone and used that instead of the cubed ham. I also added garlic, black pepper, and a little cayenne, as well as a little extra salt since the turkey was not as salty as a ham bone would have been. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it was really quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
The broth for this soup was wonderful and so fragrant. I also prefer to eliminate the vinegar and added a clove of minced garlic to the sautee. I also added rice and corn to the mix. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Kenyon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
First of all my family loved this recipe.I did not use any salt,I used a pork hock instead of a ham bone and used 1 tsp of red wine vinegar instead of 1 Tbsp of distilled white vinegar. My mom has this account on allrecipes.com. I made this soup for a class project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I used two ham hocks instead of the ham bone. I also added two cans of black beans and 1 Tbs. of liquid hickory smoke. Do not omit the vinegar! I prepared yellow rice to compliment the meal. This soup is just so yummy!!!Next time I will try adding two cloves of garlic and some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Terrizzi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States