Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Awesome recipe! I added more tomato and onion then called for because I love chunky soup and the only other thing I changed was no extra salt the ham is plenty! - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I'd give this 5 stars for taste, but I did make a few changes. I hadn't read the reviews before I made this, but I thought between the ham bones and chicken broth, it probably wouldn't need that much salt, so I didn't put any in at all until after the sauteed veggies and ham were added, then just sprinkled some in to taste. I also shook in some cumin seeds and red pepper flakes. In addition to the chopped tomatoes (I used 4 Roma tomatoes), I added a can (14.5 oz.)of diced tomatoes, with juice. I also didn't bother pureeing some of the beans. The beans were not soft enough after 2 1/2 hours total, so next time I will either cook them for a longer time before I add the other things, or will soak them overnight. Thanks for the great soup idea, I really love this with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Way too much salt. That can be eliminated altogether because of the broth and the ham. Also, too thin for our tastes. Been making beans like this all my cooking life, but never with that much salt. Salt, if used, must be used sparingly, and added just before beans are done, otherwise they toughen up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was a very flavorful soup. Everyone who tried it, loved it. I didn't have fresh tomato, so substituted about a cup of stewed tomatos that I had on hand. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as it states and the soup ended up WAY TOO salty. I actually ended up throwing out the batch it was that bad. This is a great base recipe, just omit the tablespoon of salt. If you're wanting to add an extra veggie boost to this recipe, you might want to try adding corn and small chopped carrots to your saute pan. Without the salt this recipe is easily 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Recipe is great, I tried a few things a little different. I waited until almost the very end to puree. Wait until you have added the onions and ham ( I doubled ham as well) and added tomatoes then you puree it. It turned out great, wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe looked quick and easy, but it took almost 3 hours to cook the beans soft enough to wear my husband would eat it. I'll definitely soak the dry beans the night before or use can beans (rinsed). I added chopped green peppers, garlic, oregano, and cumin for some extra flavor. Turned out tasty with some white rice and a dollup of sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This recipe might have been good for others, but it didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Definitely omit the 1 tblspn salt. The amount of sodium in this recipe was unfortunately overpowering. I would also recommend using a full 16 oz. bag of black beans, if using 2 cups measured you will get a thinner soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was surprisingly nice and very easy. I boiled the beans with the ham the night before, and left them in the fridge overnight. Then I could skim off all the fat and the beans had a terrific flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandergal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Ignatius, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States