Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
2/26/07 - This recipe was excellent with a few modifications! I scale the recipe to 27 servings (2 cans black beans) and use a 16 oz. pkg. frozen corn, cooked. Add 1 Tbls. cumin, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/8-1/4 c. chopped cilantro and 1/3 c. fresh lime juice with pulp (1-3 limes depending on size.) Make sure you drain all cans before adding to salsa. It tastes best if you let it chill for 2 days. Excellent over rice! 6/20/06 - I have made this three times already. It makes taco salad wonderful! I just can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I have made a variation of this recipe and everyone loves it! I do not use the canned tomatoes, but instead use 3 tomatoes. I also omit the green pepper, but substitute jalapeno peppers (usually 2 or 3 depending on size, no seeds). I also add 4 capfuls of white balsamic vinegar and the juice of 1/2 lime and 1/2 lemon. I really recommend the fresh cilantro (1/2 cup), it adds so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Excellent - thanks so much for sharing! I've been looking for a guilt free black bean/corn salsa that rivals the one I get at Trader Joe's (their's has fat though). I admit there was something missing and per usual I tweek these recipes and end up with new favorites. Anyway, I realized it was vinegar, but I didn't know what kind to use. My roommate suggested cider vinegar and that did the trick perfectly! I didn't even bother with the fresh tomato because the Rotel was fine for me. We munched on this before dinner with baked corn chips. Homemade pita chips would probably be fine too. We ate so much I had to make another batch. The second batch I used the Rotel with lime and cilantro and added chilis separtely. Impossible to screw up! I too used the cilantro inside instead of as a garnish. Also added a dash of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
make this all the time but use lime juice,a teaspoon of olive oil, canned tomatoes with jalapenos,can of white shoepeg corn. red onion, cilantro and cumin. let rest a day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is not a spicy salsa, but it has a lot of flavor and it makes a ton. Make sure to prepare it the night before you serve it and mix in the cilantro leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I made this for a super bowl party. This was absolutely fabulous! I am saving this recipe for any places I'm taking an appetizer from now on, this is what I'm taking! couldn't be any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
really really yummy - i wasn't too sure about this recipe, but figured other people might like it - of the four dips & spreads i made for that party this one was the best. i did change the recipe a bit - instead of canned tomatoes with jalapenos, i used regular canned tomatoes and threw in a real jalapenos, it could have stood two. and regular corn instead of mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This salsa was great! I also substituted diced can tomatoes instead of fresh. I took it to work and everyone loved and asked for the recipe. I will definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was easy because everything was in cans. I've had better, fresher-tasting salsa, but you can't beat the simplicity for a quick bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Fresh taste and full of flavor--I even used black eyed peas instead and it still turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHADPETRI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States