Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was ok....it wasn't anything special. I even added spices since it didn't seem to have anything with any flavor. If I make this again I will use LOADS of garlic and some other seasonings to spice this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Made per the recipe, minus the cilantro (not a big fan). Two days later, added V8 and a few drops of hot sauce to the leftovers, simmered it for 30 minutes and had a delicious fresh tasting soup that I served with tortilla chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is great. I make huge vats of this now. I add in some garlic, a little olive oil and salt. We eat it cold, heated up over tortilla chips with cheese melted on it and as a base for making chicken tortilla soup. And, it is so easy. That's the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
MAKE THIS!!!! Didn't think that I'd like it, but wanted to take a salsa to a potluck. I tried it and really loved the flavor. I had to give out the recipe several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
So good! And so easy! Used red onion and added jalapenos, garli and lemon juice. The black beans make is super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I am so tired of making this salsa. Every time I get together with my family (3 or 4 times a year) I have a request for it. Don't really mind though since I love it too!! Follow some of the suggestions but use what I have on hand and always just as good. I might add 2 black beans and one of another small bean. Also I mix up the variety of canned tomatoes usually draining juice before adding. I might use one garlic and olive oil, one with green chiles and one plain it that is what I have. I like using the canned tomatoes instead of fresh for some reason and always get the petite diced. Also, always use the shoepeg corn and do add some fresh or dried cilantro mixed right in. Never have had this turn out bad and is always gobbled up. Even had a coworker tell me her son wanted this sent to school when the teacher requested they bring in their favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
So-so. Didn't use fresh tomatoes, I think it would have been much better with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Excellent, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Great guilt-free recipe! I used the Rotel tomatoes with chilis, lime juice fresh squeezed from 2 limes, minced garlic, and added the chopped cilantro in the mix. It's easy to start eating as you "taste" to get things right. Letting it sit in the fridge overnight made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made a few changes to give it more flavor: used Ro-tel tomatoes with chilis for the canned tomatoes, added a good amount of cilantro directly to the salsa, added some garlic powder (fresh minced garlic would have been better). I let everything marinate overnight and it was delicious with corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAHAWKINS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States