Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great recipe. Here are a few tweeks I did: added some adobo sauce to taste (how much you add depends on how much you like the flavor), and I used frozen corn instead of the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was good but lacking something. I added vinegar and lime juice per other reviews, however, it needed something more. A spice of some kind. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
So easy to make. Last minute needed an appetizer and did not have time to chill prior to serving. Added fresh lime as one post suggested. Tasted prior to adding cumin as another post suggested. Did not feel it needed another layer of flavors. Has a small kick. I could not find Mexican Style corn....Used very little cilantro- little bit goes a long way with cilantro. This is a keeper and I will be making this a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Dont't forget the juice of a full lime, chopped cilantro instead of green onions, cumin and cayenne. Eat with Baked tostitos scoops or on top of Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime seasonsed grilled chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
An excellent base for salsa but I would add more spice to it next time to liven it up. I loved the fresh taste it had from the fresh tomatoes. I used one can of black beans and one can of tomatoes and pureed them with my hand blender to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Made this tonight. Didn't stick exactly to the proportions, but kind of eyeballed it. I used 3 cans diced tomato instead of 2 cans and 2 fresh because we didn't have any nice ones at a reasonable price at my store. I also used the stalk and the bulb from the green onion. We're onion freaks. My husband literally cannot stop eating it. I made more than this recipe, and it's more than half gone with just the two of us. Love it! This will become an often used recipe at our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I use 1 can each black beans (rinsed and drained), corn (drained) and tomatoes with green chilis (drained). I add 1/4 vidalia onion, 1/2 green pepper, and fresh parsley, cilantro and chives. Added olive oil, vinegar and a healthy dash of goya adobo seasoning...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was for a party, which was perfect because it makes lots! Its highly tweakable. I skipped the green onions and extra tomatoes. I added a can of green chiles and used plain cans of chopped tomatoes. I added lime juice, added the cilantro to the salsa (1/4c), pinch of salt, added cumin and a whole avocado. It was a big hit. Next time I would add more avocado and lime juice. Mine sat in the fridge overnight which I highly recommend. Very tasty inside fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Love this salsa! It is quick to make and is good for you. I usually add quite a bit to cilantro to this dish as well as about 1 tsp. of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was tasty and healthy, but I think a lot of the tastiness came from my addition of apple cider vinegar, lime juice, and cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States