Black Bean Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Excellent soup!! Easy, quick and everyone loved it! Now that's my idea of success. I didn't use the cooking sherry in the soup. I couldn't see the reason for it. I'd rather drink a small glass of wine while preparing the soup. This is a definite keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Easy and fantastic! I left out the carrot and celery due to personal preference and it was still great. I put a spoonfull of sour cream in the bowl before adding soup and topped with Mexican cheese blend. The cool and cheesy addition was a nice touch. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We loved this recipe and were really surprised how good it was. I added extra black beans and took about a cup and a half of them and blended them in the mini chopper to help make the soup thicker. I also used the mini chopper on the diced tomatoes (I don't like tomato chunks) and added half a jalepeno to make it spicy. I didn't use the carrots. We would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This was EXCELLENT! I didn't have any cilantro, but it was still good without. One note - I added sour cream on top, but I wouldn't again because it started to cook by the time we were getting to the bottom of our bowls...however, since the recipe does not call for sour cream, I still must give it 5 stars. Served with mini quesadillas for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent soup, lots of flavor, even without the cilantro and chili powder!!! Also easy and quick. I used 1 can of the beans and tomatoes with my chopper to make a chunky mix, and the other 2 cans of beans I pureed, to get a nice, thicker consistency. Served with Tortilla chips and shredded cheddar, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISALUVZ2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is an excellent soup and easy to make. We serve it with cheese and sour cream on the side and a bit a guac. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strawberry Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
EXCELLENT! I made the recipe as written with 2 exceptions: I thoroughly rinsed the beans in a collander or sieve prior to cooking so as to eliminate the gassy after effects that beans have on some people. Also, I find that adding a little wine or cooking sherry gives the beans a great flavor. Just before serving, I added a small dollop of sour cream with a few leaves of fresh cilantro and a tortilla chip sticking out of the sour cream. I received rave reviews and requests for 2nd and 3rd helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Added a bit of liquid smoke and a bit more cayenne. Blended to smooth a bit and served with rice in a bowl. Black beans and rice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
OMG what can I say. This was outstanding. I made this soup for a birthday party last night and everyone went crazy over it. The only change I made was to use 2 - 10 oz cans of Rotel tomatoes instead of 1 - 14.5 can cause that is what I had on hand and I did not want to waste the leftover tomatoes. Each person added freshly grated Parmesan cheese to their liking and I had sour cream available for those who wanted it. My only suggestion is, if you do not like hot (spicy) soup, either decrease the amount of cayenne pepper or do not use at all. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks for the GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Don't really like cilantro so I left it out, but otherwise I made it as written and it is delicious!! Next time I will add a few more carrots, celery and onions....and Beano!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States