Black Bean Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This was EXCELLENT! I didn't have any cilantro, but it was still good without. One note - I added sour cream on top, but I wouldn't again because it started to cook by the time we were getting to the bottom of our bowls...however, since the recipe does not call for sour cream, I still must give it 5 stars. Served with mini quesadillas for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Excellent soup!! Easy, quick and everyone loved it! Now that's my idea of success. I didn't use the cooking sherry in the soup. I couldn't see the reason for it. I'd rather drink a small glass of wine while preparing the soup. This is a definite keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was a great fast and easy recipe by itself,but I added rice, cheese( on top) and fat free sourcream(top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
EXCELLENT! I made the recipe as written with 2 exceptions: I thoroughly rinsed the beans in a collander or sieve prior to cooking so as to eliminate the gassy after effects that beans have on some people. Also, I find that adding a little wine or cooking sherry gives the beans a great flavor. Just before serving, I added a small dollop of sour cream with a few leaves of fresh cilantro and a tortilla chip sticking out of the sour cream. I received rave reviews and requests for 2nd and 3rd helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Only wanted to make half the recipe so used a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes and just 1 can of black beans - 2 grated carrots and 2 cups of beef broth. Didn't have fresh cilantro so used some oregano in the soup instead. And what's salsa without a splash of lime juice? My potato masher did the trick of making the soup slightly smooth, but still chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This soup is good and we will probably make it again. We pureed some of the beans and I added in a couple of cans of green salsa and extra garlic to ramp up the flavor a bit. I also added in some cubed ham that we needed to use up. The soup came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My husband loved it and he hates everything......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Don't really like cilantro so I left it out, but otherwise I made it as written and it is delicious!! Next time I will add a few more carrots, celery and onions....and Beano!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
OMG what can I say. This was outstanding. I made this soup for a birthday party last night and everyone went crazy over it. The only change I made was to use 2 - 10 oz cans of Rotel tomatoes instead of 1 - 14.5 can cause that is what I had on hand and I did not want to waste the leftover tomatoes. Each person added freshly grated Parmesan cheese to their liking and I had sour cream available for those who wanted it. My only suggestion is, if you do not like hot (spicy) soup, either decrease the amount of cayenne pepper or do not use at all. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks for the GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent soup, lots of flavor, even without the cilantro and chili powder!!! Also easy and quick. I used 1 can of the beans and tomatoes with my chopper to make a chunky mix, and the other 2 cans of beans I pureed, to get a nice, thicker consistency. Served with Tortilla chips and shredded cheddar, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISALUVZ2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States