Black Bean Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was a great fast and easy recipe by itself,but I added rice, cheese( on top) and fat free sourcream(top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We loved this recipe and were really surprised how good it was. I added extra black beans and took about a cup and a half of them and blended them in the mini chopper to help make the soup thicker. I also used the mini chopper on the diced tomatoes (I don't like tomato chunks) and added half a jalepeno to make it spicy. I didn't use the carrots. We would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This was EXCELLENT! I didn't have any cilantro, but it was still good without. One note - I added sour cream on top, but I wouldn't again because it started to cook by the time we were getting to the bottom of our bowls...however, since the recipe does not call for sour cream, I still must give it 5 stars. Served with mini quesadillas for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Excellent soup!! Easy, quick and everyone loved it! Now that's my idea of success. I didn't use the cooking sherry in the soup. I couldn't see the reason for it. I'd rather drink a small glass of wine while preparing the soup. This is a definite keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent soup, lots of flavor, even without the cilantro and chili powder!!! Also easy and quick. I used 1 can of the beans and tomatoes with my chopper to make a chunky mix, and the other 2 cans of beans I pureed, to get a nice, thicker consistency. Served with Tortilla chips and shredded cheddar, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISALUVZ2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is an excellent soup and easy to make. We serve it with cheese and sour cream on the side and a bit a guac. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strawberry Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Easy and fantastic! I left out the carrot and celery due to personal preference and it was still great. I put a spoonfull of sour cream in the bowl before adding soup and topped with Mexican cheese blend. The cool and cheesy addition was a nice touch. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This soup was very good. I left out the butter, and added the vegetables to the soup only after I had the beans (I used dried black beans) were soft and ready. I pureed the black beans lightly in the stock, and then added the remaining ingredients. I left out the celery and cayenne pepper, because I didn't have any and used paprika instead. I might have used beef bullion instead. Overall, tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Only wanted to make half the recipe so used a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes and just 1 can of black beans - 2 grated carrots and 2 cups of beef broth. Didn't have fresh cilantro so used some oregano in the soup instead. And what's salsa without a splash of lime juice? My potato masher did the trick of making the soup slightly smooth, but still chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
EXCELLENT! I made the recipe as written with 2 exceptions: I thoroughly rinsed the beans in a collander or sieve prior to cooking so as to eliminate the gassy after effects that beans have on some people. Also, I find that adding a little wine or cooking sherry gives the beans a great flavor. Just before serving, I added a small dollop of sour cream with a few leaves of fresh cilantro and a tortilla chip sticking out of the sour cream. I received rave reviews and requests for 2nd and 3rd helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States