Black Bean Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was a great fast and easy recipe by itself,but I added rice, cheese( on top) and fat free sourcream(top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We loved this recipe and were really surprised how good it was. I added extra black beans and took about a cup and a half of them and blended them in the mini chopper to help make the soup thicker. I also used the mini chopper on the diced tomatoes (I don't like tomato chunks) and added half a jalepeno to make it spicy. I didn't use the carrots. We would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This was EXCELLENT! I didn't have any cilantro, but it was still good without. One note - I added sour cream on top, but I wouldn't again because it started to cook by the time we were getting to the bottom of our bowls...however, since the recipe does not call for sour cream, I still must give it 5 stars. Served with mini quesadillas for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Excellent soup!! Easy, quick and everyone loved it! Now that's my idea of success. I didn't use the cooking sherry in the soup. I couldn't see the reason for it. I'd rather drink a small glass of wine while preparing the soup. This is a definite keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent soup, lots of flavor, even without the cilantro and chili powder!!! Also easy and quick. I used 1 can of the beans and tomatoes with my chopper to make a chunky mix, and the other 2 cans of beans I pureed, to get a nice, thicker consistency. Served with Tortilla chips and shredded cheddar, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISALUVZ2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is an excellent soup and easy to make. We serve it with cheese and sour cream on the side and a bit a guac. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strawberry Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Easy and fantastic! I left out the carrot and celery due to personal preference and it was still great. I put a spoonfull of sour cream in the bowl before adding soup and topped with Mexican cheese blend. The cool and cheesy addition was a nice touch. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This soup was very good. I left out the butter, and added the vegetables to the soup only after I had the beans (I used dried black beans) were soft and ready. I pureed the black beans lightly in the stock, and then added the remaining ingredients. I left out the celery and cayenne pepper, because I didn't have any and used paprika instead. I might have used beef bullion instead. Overall, tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Only wanted to make half the recipe so used a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes and just 1 can of black beans - 2 grated carrots and 2 cups of beef broth. Didn't have fresh cilantro so used some oregano in the soup instead. And what's salsa without a splash of lime juice? My potato masher did the trick of making the soup slightly smooth, but still chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
EXCELLENT! I made the recipe as written with 2 exceptions: I thoroughly rinsed the beans in a collander or sieve prior to cooking so as to eliminate the gassy after effects that beans have on some people. Also, I find that adding a little wine or cooking sherry gives the beans a great flavor. Just before serving, I added a small dollop of sour cream with a few leaves of fresh cilantro and a tortilla chip sticking out of the sour cream. I received rave reviews and requests for 2nd and 3rd helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States