Black Bean Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Easy, healthy, and good. I didn't have celery, so substituted bell pepper instead. Used extra virgin olive oil instead of butter, and went heavy on the garlic and cumin. Served over rice. Good even without cilantro, but I would add cilantro if I had it. (Oh, and I also toss in a bit of wheat or oat bran into almost everything I cook ... you can't taste it, and it's good for you.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
OMG what can I say. This was outstanding. I made this soup for a birthday party last night and everyone went crazy over it. The only change I made was to use 2 - 10 oz cans of Rotel tomatoes instead of 1 - 14.5 can cause that is what I had on hand and I did not want to waste the leftover tomatoes. Each person added freshly grated Parmesan cheese to their liking and I had sour cream available for those who wanted it. My only suggestion is, if you do not like hot (spicy) soup, either decrease the amount of cayenne pepper or do not use at all. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks for the GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Added a bit of liquid smoke and a bit more cayenne. Blended to smooth a bit and served with rice in a bowl. Black beans and rice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
EXCELLENT! I made the recipe as written with 2 exceptions: I thoroughly rinsed the beans in a collander or sieve prior to cooking so as to eliminate the gassy after effects that beans have on some people. Also, I find that adding a little wine or cooking sherry gives the beans a great flavor. Just before serving, I added a small dollop of sour cream with a few leaves of fresh cilantro and a tortilla chip sticking out of the sour cream. I received rave reviews and requests for 2nd and 3rd helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Only wanted to make half the recipe so used a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes and just 1 can of black beans - 2 grated carrots and 2 cups of beef broth. Didn't have fresh cilantro so used some oregano in the soup instead. And what's salsa without a splash of lime juice? My potato masher did the trick of making the soup slightly smooth, but still chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This soup was very good. I left out the butter, and added the vegetables to the soup only after I had the beans (I used dried black beans) were soft and ready. I pureed the black beans lightly in the stock, and then added the remaining ingredients. I left out the celery and cayenne pepper, because I didn't have any and used paprika instead. I might have used beef bullion instead. Overall, tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Easy and fantastic! I left out the carrot and celery due to personal preference and it was still great. I put a spoonfull of sour cream in the bowl before adding soup and topped with Mexican cheese blend. The cool and cheesy addition was a nice touch. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is an excellent soup and easy to make. We serve it with cheese and sour cream on the side and a bit a guac. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strawberry Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent soup, lots of flavor, even without the cilantro and chili powder!!! Also easy and quick. I used 1 can of the beans and tomatoes with my chopper to make a chunky mix, and the other 2 cans of beans I pureed, to get a nice, thicker consistency. Served with Tortilla chips and shredded cheddar, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISALUVZ2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States