Black Bean Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We really enjoyed these black beans! When I saw the word "Salsa" in the title I was expecting to see it have salsa in the ingredients. There's not even tomatoes! Regardless it taste yummy, just think the title should be changed, does not taste like any salsa I've had! Made some pico to garnish with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I puréed half of the beans, added more cumin (we love it), and squeezed a fresh lemon in with the cilantro at the end. Before adding the lemon and cilantro, my husband and I both thought it rather bland when we tasted it. After lemon addition, Delicious!!! Will make again and again with these changes for our tastes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
SO SIMPLE, SO BASIC! It was awesome. I didn't have black beans so I used pinto beans. I added a splash of sherry like one reviewer and that was a great addition. Also, I didn't use salsa ... Just three cans of beans, 2 cups of broth, garlic, tabasco sauce, a small dash of sugar, and cumin. FAB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
LOVE IT! A local cafe makes a black bean soup that I love so I was looking for a similar recipe...this is even better!! I love cilantro and it really makes this dish. I have made it several times now; I usually add diced green and red peppers and omit the carrots. I serve with a dallop of sour cream on top like the restaurant...YUM!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe! I did not like the taste of the cooking sherry in the soup, so I added a little Worcestershire sauce and it is delicious (maybe I didn't wait long enough for the sherry to meld with the other flavors before tasting). I had some homemade salt free salsa that I needed to use up and used it in place of the canned tomatoes and I cooked dried black beans. I did not have cilantro, but I am not a big fan of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My husband loved it and he hates everything......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This soup is good and we will probably make it again. We pureed some of the beans and I added in a couple of cans of green salsa and extra garlic to ramp up the flavor a bit. I also added in some cubed ham that we needed to use up. The soup came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Don't really like cilantro so I left it out, but otherwise I made it as written and it is delicious!! Next time I will add a few more carrots, celery and onions....and Beano!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States