Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did not use Goya products because my grocery doesn't carry them. I liked it so much that I made it my entire dinner! I omitted the jalapeno nacho slices because I knew it would be too hot for me if I added them. My husband, on the other hand, added a jalapeno ring to every bite! I served this with Baked Tostado Scoops. The salsa filled each little cup for a perfect bite of deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I think next time I'll add some lime juice. This would also be great in a tortilla as a healthy wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I really liked this. I was surprised, because I have not been a fan of other corn and bean salsas. I made 1/2 recipe and followed everything except I also made 1/2 recipe of Allrecipe's "Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresco (Pico de Gallo)," and used all of that in place of the container of pico de gallo. I had the ingredients to use up anyhow. For the corn I defrosted some frozen corn in the microwave for a minute and measured it using the bean can to get 1/2 can. Lastly, I left out the jalepenos, as I just don't care for the added heat. I could eat this with chips or a spoon. I definitely recommend homemade pico de gallo, if you have the time. The two together made this perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I thought it was very good, though I made some changes. I only made a half batch, which was plenty. I used fresh tomatoes, though would probably opt for the ease of canned next time. I omitted the green onions and the bell pepper; the half red onion I used was still a bit overpowering, so next time I would use less. I skipped the avocado because I didn't think it would hold up well; I made this the night before so the flavors could blend and I though the avocado would turn brown and mushy. I also added cumin and pepper. It looked beautiful and had a nice kick. I served it with baked chips; a much healthier alternative to cookies and other party goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheKitchenFairy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made this *almost* according to the recipe. I used fresh tomatoes & jalapeños instead of canned. It was great & gone in minutes! I made a 2nd batch for the Super Bowl tomorrow and added my own twist on this recipe. I diced yellow, red, green & orange bell peppers & a small white onion and to give it an extra kick a cubed an 8oz brick of pepper jack cheese. So far getting a ?? from the taste testers!! Great recipe & a great one to make your own based on preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenFairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this for Recipe Group and we really enjoyed it, though I knew we would because I make something similar to this that we just love! I made tacos for dinner last night and thought this would go well...it did! I halved the recipe and was not able to use Goya products, but made it exactly otherwise, also using the jalapeno slices. I would definately make this again, maybe adding a little lemon or lime juice next time! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Only difference was 1 can reduced sodium black beans, 2 cans drained RoTel w/green chilies, sliced jalapeno peppers, hot mexican chili powder, 1tsp dried cilantro, sliced green onions and a few squirts of lime juice. Did not use Goya products. Definitely has a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste was phenomenal, better than I expected. I did add some sweet red and orange peppers along with some onions for crunch and color. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is a nice easy to throw together snack/appetizer. I didn't have Pico de Gallo, so I subbed prepared salsa. I agree that the cumin could use toned down a notch, but that should be done according to your personal preference. I'm not a canned corn fan, so I used frozen instead. THANKS, GOYA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I couldn’t find Goya Salsa Pico de Gallo at my market so I improvised and it still came out wonderful. I also made it a few hours in advance so the flavor has a chance to meld and develop. Served with tortilla chips, this makes a delicious snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States