Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I thought it was very good, though I made some changes. I only made a half batch, which was plenty. I used fresh tomatoes, though would probably opt for the ease of canned next time. I omitted the green onions and the bell pepper; the half red onion I used was still a bit overpowering, so next time I would use less. I skipped the avocado because I didn't think it would hold up well; I made this the night before so the flavors could blend and I though the avocado would turn brown and mushy. I also added cumin and pepper. It looked beautiful and had a nice kick. I served it with baked chips; a much healthier alternative to cookies and other party goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
The longer this sits, the better the taste comes together. My boyfriend really enjoyed it with tortilla chips. I added in diced jalapenos instead of the slices and wish I would've added more. Really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I couldn’t find Goya Salsa Pico de Gallo at my market so I improvised and it still came out wonderful. I also made it a few hours in advance so the flavor has a chance to meld and develop. Served with tortilla chips, this makes a delicious snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is a nice easy to throw together snack/appetizer. I didn't have Pico de Gallo, so I subbed prepared salsa. I agree that the cumin could use toned down a notch, but that should be done according to your personal preference. I'm not a canned corn fan, so I used frozen instead. THANKS, GOYA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I really liked this. I was surprised, because I have not been a fan of other corn and bean salsas. I made 1/2 recipe and followed everything except I also made 1/2 recipe of Allrecipe's "Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresco (Pico de Gallo)," and used all of that in place of the container of pico de gallo. I had the ingredients to use up anyhow. For the corn I defrosted some frozen corn in the microwave for a minute and measured it using the bean can to get 1/2 can. Lastly, I left out the jalepenos, as I just don't care for the added heat. I could eat this with chips or a spoon. I definitely recommend homemade pico de gallo, if you have the time. The two together made this perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I liked this recipe but felt it was missing something taste wise and was just boring with Tostitoes. I baked a tortilla shell in the oven at 350 for 8 minutes or until it was a little brown and crispy then topped the tortilla with homemade plain hummus. I then layered the black bean salsa on top and cut into four pieces like a pizza and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe has entirely too much cumin in it. I will make my own recipe next time, with less spice and some fresh tomatoes instead. The pico de gallo is fine if you don't have fresh, but I prefer a fresh salsa recipe to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste was phenomenal, better than I expected. I did add some sweet red and orange peppers along with some onions for crunch and color. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Only difference was 1 can reduced sodium black beans, 2 cans drained RoTel w/green chilies, sliced jalapeno peppers, hot mexican chili powder, 1tsp dried cilantro, sliced green onions and a few squirts of lime juice. Did not use Goya products. Definitely has a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I rated this a 4 because I think mine is better. :) http://allrecipes.com/CustomRecipe/62445685/Pico-De-Gallo-With-Beans-and-Corn/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States