Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I am not quite sure why the 1 user didn't care for this dish. I made the mistake of fixing it last night for a mexican theme tonight. Now I have to fix another bowl today because there is only about a cup left. This is such an easy recipe and it does NOT have to be followed by the letter to turn out grand.....Be creative...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This was excellent. The changes I made are to first DRAIN AND RINSE THE BEANS. The first time I made it I did not and it got sloppy and mushy. I used frozen white shoepeg corn, only because I personally hate canned corn (if you use canned I'd drain that too), and I used one can black beans and one can kidneys - just to add to the color. Also, instead of bottled Italian dressing I made my own with capers, caper juice, white wine, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and garlic - you can probably use any kind of oil/vinegar dressing you like. The jalepeno added just enough spice, I'd personally use a little more but this was fine. Oh - and I used whole grape tomatoes, sliced ones may make it too runny also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This made for a beautiful salad-the color combination was great. Someone mentioned how horrible it looked-they must not have drained the beans is all I can figure. I did make a few changes. I added some cumin, cayenne pepper and chili powder. After I had it all mixed up I thought it was screaming for pasta so I added about a cup of cooked rotini. I used red and green peppers and also added a bit of chopped celery. I left the pimentos out because it was red enough and didn't have the avocado so I skipped that as well. My end result was a very tasty and pretty side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I've made this salad a couple times since trying it. Very easy, and no cooking involved. I've omitted the pimentos, but the salad doesn't need it. I love black beans, so I put equal parts black beans and corn. Also, I'd add a red or yellow bell pepper for more color and a little more sweetness than the green. Don't skimp on the cilantro, and for some additional punch add a little more jalapeno pepper. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I've made this several times and have meant to submit my rave review for about a year now. This recipe is tasty, healthy and very versatile. Make it spicy or not---eat it as a salad, use it as a salsa with chips, or throw it in a pita or tortilla! My variation is to use 2 cans beans, 1 can corn and omit the avocado & pimentos. (avocado gets a bit slimy as a leftover) That's just me though--this can be adjusted to anyone's preference! Truly a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
I made this for a Mexican theme part and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Great recipe! Instead of fresh tomatoes I bought canned diced tomatoes and drained them before adding them to the salad. You can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I can't say enough bad things about this recipe. Mixing the ingredients makes it looks terrible and completely unappetizing. I followed the recipe to the letter, and ended up with enough salad to feed 100 people (unless for some reason this is the only dish available). I brought this salad to a mexican theme potluck party, and it was a TOTAL flop. No one touched it. Very embarrassing, a waste of money, and a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Easy. colorful. I would cut down on the cilantro a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I have made this several times and it never fails that I am asked for the recipe everytime! However, I am not sure who decided it only takes 20 minutes of prep time!! It usually takes well over an hour, but is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States