Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I have made this salad a number of times. I love the leftovers. I usually wait and add the avocado to the portion I am serving. It is huge so I half the recipe and have used canned jalapeno peppers and red, orange or yellow peppers according to whats on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Made this for a family gathering today. I did follow a lot of other review suggestions. In the end I used 2 cans of black beans rinsed well, 1 can of corn, 1 cup of Trader Joes frozen roasted corn defrosted, 2 cans of diced tomatoes w/chilies, a little over half a red onion diced, zest and juice of 1 lime, 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, about 6 diced red/yellow/orange mini sweet peppers, 1/2 cup of italian dressing and salt and pepper tom taste. I also used a few dashes of Goya Adobo seasoning and some grinds from a tex mex chipotle spice blend. I made it first thing in the morning and let it chill until about 1 pm. We ate it around 2pm with tortilla chips. We grazed it the rest of the day. Everyone seemed to enjoy it. Thanks for posting this recipe. Can't wait until I can try it with grilled chicken or with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Everytime I make this dish it disappears in flash with many requests for the recipe. Its a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was wonderful. A nice healthy side dish. I used canned black beans and did rinse them. I used fresh corn, not canned. Instead of jalapeno's, I added hot sauce to taste, just to give it just a bit of a kick. I don't like things too spicy so this was a better way to control how spicy to make it. I used a yellow pepper and I cut off the white part of the green onions. I just used the green part. Make sure to seed the tomatoes or all the tomato "gunk" will ruin the sauce flavoring. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used kosher salt. The cilantro is key to this salad. Don't skimp on it. This salad is very colorful and all the people at my party asked me for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Made this probably 2 dozen times.....LOVE IT!! We don't care for the taste of cilantro, doesn't matter, it's great even without it. I chop up the avocado as needed and serve it separately to add as needed so it doesn't get brown and mushy in the leftovers. I use Good Seasons Italian dressing mix because that's what we always have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I've made this receipe several times and I don't even get to chill it. My family instantly starts eating it! Every time I make it, I get several compliments and everyone wants to receipe. The only thing I elimante is the avocado, just because it turns brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've taken this to more than one potluck, and it always goes over well. I love that it's vegetarian, so everyone can have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Wilkes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Extremely good salad, however takes a while to prep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and it is a favorite of my husband and myself. Didn't use the pimentos or the avocado. I have substituted at times canned tomatoes drained. Also added lots more cilantro as I feel you can never have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I loved this salad!! I did change a couple of ingredients ..I did not put jalapeno peppers or fresh tomatoes. I used canned tomatoes with chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States