Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Took this to our annual block party and it was absolutely fantastic - and gone very quickly. A few changes - although I love avocado, I omitted it b/c not everyone does, and I omitted the pimentos for the same reason. Added cumin & freshly ground pepper, and used grape tomatoes, quartered, in place of regular tomatoes as they're not quite in season here yet. Used Ken's Light Northern Italian w/Basil & Romano. I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars because I followed the recipe to a T the first time and it was fantastic. The second time I made some minor changes for convenience: I bought fresh pico de gallo in the vegetable section at the grocery store in place of chopping the tomatoes, jalapenos, and onions (bonus: it came seasoned). I used 1 can of corn and 2 cans of black beans and omitted the Italian dressing (since the pico was seasoned so well and it saves calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was really good. I made it just as the recipe reads, except I added cumin. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent! Even the picky eaters enjoyed it. Since kids were eating it, I only put in 1 jalapeno, but I would have liked it better with 2 or 3 for more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Virgin Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was a nice side dish, not extraordinary but good enough to make again. I reduced the oil and added some extra lime juice and salt. I think I might throw a little mango in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now and am just taking the time to rate it. I love it! Everytime I've made it for potlucks or when we've had guests over, I get asked for the recipe. It's really healthy and tastes great. One of the reviewers who said it came out mushy even admitted that s/he didn't drain the beans or corn - which the recipe clearly states that you need to do. I rarely use the cilantro when I make it - not that it's bad, but I generally don't have much use for cilantro and the rest not used for the recipe goes to waste. I have also made it with and without avocado and it's great either way. I agree with the reviewer who said the avocado doesn't do so well when you're eating it as leftovers - but you probably won't have leftovers anyway! :-) I have made it with and without the pimentos, and I think I've only used the jalapenos once - again, not because it tastes bad - just because we don't usually eat jalapenos. I read a review here that suggested using a zesty Italian dressing and I do that now all the time. I have found that t does take a bit of prep time to cut up the veggies - more than the 20 minutes - I guess I'm not the fastest chopper in the world, and I'm generally doubling the recipe, but it can take me an hour to put this together. So, I would suggest making it as written, then adding/leaving out things you and your family prefer. I think you'll find it a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Everyone asks for this salad when the weather gets warmer. Great summer salad or serve with tortilla chips for a unique and healthy dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
easy and good. I didn't have the italian dressing. Added cumin seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Made this for a pot luck dinner and it was gone ASAP ! Easy to make which was great too. I happen not to have lime in the house so I used a couple of tablespoons of frozen limeade...no complaints but will make sure I have a lime next time :) Thanks for the recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great bean salad. I made a few little adjustments. I used the lime juice as a dressing at the end combined with garlic, olive oil, and salt. Used it as a dressing to dress it right before serving. Also...no pimentos and red instead of green onion. Only good for a day of so...afterwards, it gets really soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine C. Valencia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States