Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were great! Even my picky 7-yr old loved them...I did make a few small changes, though. A handful of breadcrumbs helped them hold together much better, and I added some chili powder and hot sauce before making into patties. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These were awesome! I added a large handful of seasoned breadcrumbs based on previous reviews and they held together perfectly. First vegetarian burger I have really enjoyed. Hubby liked them too (and he is a meat eater!). I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was a great recipe; the burgers tasted fantastic. The only change I made was adding about half a cup of flour to the mix to make them hold together better when I cooked them because they fell apart otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe, added a handful of breadcrumbs, but instead of salsa, I added two chopped chipotle peppers and 4 TB of the adobo sauce. I added sliced avocado along with the other toppings. My 15 y/o vegetarian son said they are better than any other veggie burgers he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe needs some changes and additions. I added vegetable oil and flour to help it stick. I added garlic powder, cumin, chili powder and seasoned salt to the mixture. I topped it with guacamole and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought these were really good. The rice adds some firmness to the burger. I also added some crsushed whole wheat saltines, salt, pepper, chili powder, and a little chopped garlic. These were great! Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were very good and easy, but I made some changes. I added some frozen corn, garlic powder, cumin and chili powder to the mixture before making the "patties" - which, even with bread crumbs, didn't stay together all that well - but good enough to eat! I didn't have sour cream, so I mixed the salsa with plain yogurt and it was delicious. Also, I didn't have buns so I used flat, Greek pita from my freezer. I sprayed cooking spray on one side, gave it a shake of garlic, and heated it up in the pan after the patties were done. I made my patties in the shape of half of a pita so I could make sandwiches. One pita cut in half, patty inside, and then cut in half to make it easy to pick up. My husband loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
We really enjoyed these. I doubled, almost tripled the recipe, including 2 cans black and one can garbanzo beans (reduced sodium). I formed the patties into approx. 4 oz portions and froze them on a cookie sheet; then wrapped them individually. They cook easily right out of the freezer and hold their shape - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
The flavor of these was very good, but mine wouldn't hold together very well into what I could call a burger. I made it exactly as the recipe called for, so I don't know if other people are more tolerant of crumbling burgers, or something went wrong with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
these were great! I did add 3 cloves garlic, and then no bread crumbs, just saltine crackers to hold them together (I used 33 of them, yep I counted). Will definitely make again, but will double the recipe so I can freeze some! They are even better as left overs, as the flavors mesh well. These were the best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States