Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were very good and easy, but I made some changes. I added some frozen corn, garlic powder, cumin and chili powder to the mixture before making the "patties" - which, even with bread crumbs, didn't stay together all that well - but good enough to eat! I didn't have sour cream, so I mixed the salsa with plain yogurt and it was delicious. Also, I didn't have buns so I used flat, Greek pita from my freezer. I sprayed cooking spray on one side, gave it a shake of garlic, and heated it up in the pan after the patties were done. I made my patties in the shape of half of a pita so I could make sandwiches. One pita cut in half, patty inside, and then cut in half to make it easy to pick up. My husband loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I was very disappointed in these burgers as I like vegetarian food and they had many good reviews. Although I followed the recipe and added bread crumbs as suggested, they were still mushy and pasty. My family ate them, but I will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
my meat & pot boy did not like these...however, I really did. Like a few other reviewers, mine did not hold together. my batch made 3 good size burgers; i added bread crumbs to the last burger and it held together great! i added a little cumin to the mix as well. loved the salsa/sour cream mix. next time i'll try yogurt instead of sc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These were awesome! I added a large handful of seasoned breadcrumbs based on previous reviews and they held together perfectly. First vegetarian burger I have really enjoyed. Hubby liked them too (and he is a meat eater!). I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe was so easy! I used kidney beans instead because it was what I had and added on chili pepper. I saw that others had trouble making them stick together so I added about a 1/2 cup of flour (give or take). They turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very good flavor! I added some 2 hang fulls of crushed crackers, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and about a table spoon of flour. They stuck together much better after this and were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were great! Even my picky 7-yr old loved them...I did make a few small changes, though. A handful of breadcrumbs helped them hold together much better, and I added some chili powder and hot sauce before making into patties. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
They took forever to cook, fell apart, and were still mushy in the middle. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These were delicious - my husband and I ate them on english muffins instead of hamburger buns, which seemed to add a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snl2006

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
these veggie burgers are tasty and filling. the mixture seemed a bit runny at first; but i put my bowl in the fridge for a few minutes, and it seemed to thicken up quite a bit, and helped the patty hold while cooking. i suggest pan frying in a small amount of vegetable oil, on medium-high heat for 6-7 minutes per side to help them firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States