Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I added some about a tsp of liquid smoke, a tablespoon of minced garlic, about 1/2 tsp of salt and omitted the salsa. I made the first burger and it fell apart in the pan so I added an additional egg to the mix and the rest came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
As is, the recipe is a bit bland for my taste (which is saying a lot because I'm not one for spicy foods). With some changes, these have become a favorite around our house. I dice up 2 or 3 serrano peppers and mix it into the burger mixture to give it some kick. Like other reviewers, I add bread crumbs to help it stick better. I also just sprinkle on some cumin and chile powder (I'm big on just eyeballing it...sorry for imprecise measurements). I also add more salsa (again, I just eyeball it). These are delicious with the changes I made but bland without, so I can't give it a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Would give it 4 1/2 if I could. These were tasty, but I made a few substitutions. Used quinoa instead of rice, added garlic and used the blender to mash everything instead of a fork. I left out the salsa from the mix and used it as a topping instead. To season I used a packet of hot & spicy taco seasoning in the mash. Then baked on parchment paper in the oven at 400 for 15 minutes. They came out nice and spicy and stayed together! Tried one on the stove top and it fell apart, but it would make a tasty meat substitute for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made it for supper for a friend and I, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I was skeptical because I usually don't like veggie burgers, but wow! These are tasty! I added some breadcrumbs, cumin, chili powder and mixed seasonings to the mixture, and served on toasted bread with salsa, lettuce and cheddar. Also, I don't know if this is me or the recipe, but I ended up with six good-sized patties instead of four. Some of these will be frozen, I think...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These were really good! The only change I made was to substitute a flaxseed/water combo for the egg. I wil be making these often! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a great recipe. Made a few additions. Added a handful of breadcrumbs like others suggested. I also cut the rice down to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 package extra firm tofu (make sure to drain/squeeze out the water really well), red and yellow bell pepper, and some garlic and herb seasonings along with the usual salt and pepper. The man of the house really enjoyed the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe, and really easy to make. I think it is good without modifications, though the last time I made it, I did add cumin, garlic, and chili powder per other reviewers suggestions...yum! This can easily be modified for vegans by leaving out the egg, and not serving it with cheese or sour cream sauce. I made it for my mom who is trying out a vegan diet, and served it with salsa, avocado, and lettuce. They were great! Also, I baked them in the oven (400 degrees, 15 minutes on each side) instead of frying--I think they hold together better this way and it's healthier too. Strangely, I think they held together better without the egg. I might have added too much salsa to the mix though. Overall, I didn't have too much trouble with them holding together. If you are serving them with cheese, I recommend putting the cheese over the patty at the end of the frying or baking time--it will help hold the patty unit intact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Great burgers. I had same issue as previous reviewers and even with quite a lot of extra bread crumbs they were still a bit sloppy and falling apart but VERY tasty. I made some changes apart from the addition of the breadcrumbs, I also added about a tsp of ground cumin and a can of corn. Husband and 2 young kids loved these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe closely for the burgers, but decided to serve over a bed of baby spinach and cucumber and tomato in place of the buns. I enhanced the sour cream garnish with chopped kalamata olives and it was super tasty! To help the burgers stick together I let them cook a little longer (about 7 min. a side) and then let them cool a bit in the pan before dishing them up. It was delicious and even my picky eater hubby thought they were great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne377

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Litchfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States