Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were quite good. I added about a 1/4 cup of bread crumbs based on past reviews and they turned out great. They did fall apart a bit on the flip, but I just pushed them back together and they held up pretty good. Throw a slice of cheese on them and you don't even need the salsa/sour cream mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrea Rose
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very yummy! Only changes: I added a handful of bread crumbs, added some taco seasoning to the rice while it was simmering and topped with shredded taco cheese instead of cheddar slices. Will definitely make these again. I'm thinking about making them and freezing the patties for quick meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrea Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roeland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I cooked these at a low temperature for quite a while but they still crumbled when I attempted to flip them. So, I crushed some soda crackers and added that in as a binder. They then held together much better (although I did still have to be gentle when flipping). I cooked the brown rice in broth to give it more flavour. I also added some garlic powder and seasoning salt to the mixture. I fried them in a bit of coconut oil, as I do not like cooking spray. I spread the buns with garlic butter and toasted them a bit. Then I topped the patties with mayonaise, and some onions fried in a little coconut oil and barbeque sauce. Everyone gobbled them up (including my very fussy 9 & 10 year olds and their friends). My son yelled to me from the other room, "Mom, the new recipe is a success!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
These were excellent. I had no problem with them falling apart. I cooked them over very low heat until they browned, and they didn't even fall apart when flipping them. I also used olive oil spray instead of oil. Added a small jalapeno, along with the onion, melted jack cheese on top, then added a dollop of soy mayo and avocado mixture. I processed the beans in my food processor, though not a lot. That might have been one reason for them sticking together. I made another batch and put them in a zip-lock bag. Testing to see how it freezes. If it works well, I will make and freeze bags of it for my daughter to take back to college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
they were really tasty, but fell apart like crazy... tried adding breadcrumbs and everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megbut

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
These were great. They do just fine without the egg because we are vegan. Just add some flour to it and it is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These are very good. I added chili powder and cummin. Also crushed Ritz crackers. Some fell apart but most stayed together. I will make them again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanne O'Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought these were really good. The rice adds some firmness to the burger. I also added some crsushed whole wheat saltines, salt, pepper, chili powder, and a little chopped garlic. These were great! Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
My husband loved these! I thought they were good, but needed salt and pepper. Also, for me, the recipe made 6 large (but thin) burgers. I also added flour, as many reviewers suggested, and I didn't have any trouble with them falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These didn't turn out for me as written, they were way to wet. Ended up adding bread crumbs and crushed tortilla chips and the conssistancy was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States