Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Instead of breadcrumbs or flour, I ground "Tostitos with Lime" tortilla chips in the mini-processor--they brought a slight crunch and lime flavor to the burgers. I also added a half-teaspoon of cumin and some fresh chopped cilantro. Hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
super bland. fell apart easily. won't make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
They tasted great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I always look at others comments before deciding to make something and with these it was very helpful. I added breadcrumbs, tumeric and cumin to the mixture. Like others said already they dont really hold together very well but they are very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I originally went looking for a recipe like this because I really enjoy the Black Bean and Rice burgers they serve @ Ruby Tuesdays. I get tired of veggie burgers, and honestly there are not many I like anyway. These I thought were great. They are a little mushy and can be a little difficult to work with, but very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOHara87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dexter, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is a nice, easily customized recipe. I was out of brown rice so I used couscous which is light and fluffy. I also used the other readers suggestions which helped a lot. I served with a peach chutney from this site that was perfect. It made a bunch so I froze half to have on hand any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Love them. I've made these several times over the past year. I make a batch and they keep in the fridge for about a week (but they're often gone sooner). Reheat them in the microwave for a quick lunch. My daughter loves them too, but no one else in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I changed a few things as suggested by others... Used Panko instead of bread crumbs (about 1/2 cup) Also used a quinoa and brown rice combo instead of just brown rice. We added adobo and finely chopped chipotle peppers (2) as well as 2 cloves of fresh garlic. They turned out great, so great in fact that we used the leftovers to make Black bean egg whites benedict the next morning and made burritos to freeze for later. Really easy recipe with so many options on how to re-adapt for other great meals. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
amazing! added breadcrumbs, 1/2 C, as suggested by other reviewers. we are dairy-free, so we used a spicy light-mayo instead of dairy, and sandwiched the burger between two corn tortillas, as to reduce the carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Pretty good! Like some of the other reviewers, I did add some Panko bread crumbs, ground cumin, chili powder and garlic. Still a little bland - but, overall yummy! The sauce, salsa or ketchup adds to the flavor. Everyone loved these and rated as a "make again!". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States