Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious! Will make again. Everyone loved them, even my picky 7 y.o.! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe; easy to prepare (if the rice is cooked in advance). I knew, as I was making these, that they would be rather bland, so I added salt & pepper (I was very surprised they were absent from the recipe) and also a healthy pinch of cumin. Even at that, the next time I make them, I will be kicking the flavour up a notch or two. The best praise for this recipe is that they stayed together very nicely -- something most bean burger recipes don't seem to do. Thanks, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I took out the onion and salsa, and added corn instead, along with some chile powder for flavor. I also added about 1/2 cup flour to help it bind. The burgers turned out delicious with barbecue sauce on top. I will make these again for sure, maybe with some homemade guacamole or salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great dish! It was a little wet and wasn't holding together well, so I added about a half cup more cooked brown rice, a 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese and about two large handfuls of uncooked oatmeal. I used a small red onion instead and threw a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot sauce in there for a little kick. To top it off, I added some fresh guacamole and sour cream. It was DELICIOUS, and I will definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I added garlic and onion powder, but forgot to read reviews until the patties would not hold together. I added oatmeal to the remaining mixture which helped a lot. However, these were very bland and simply tasted like black beans. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Tastes good, like burrito filling, but it crumbled instead of making nice patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Pretty good, but it needs taco seasoning and bread crumbs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
good recipe but omitted the egg and no flour. I used guar gum for a binder a d worked beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were good but as written the would not stay torether. I added approx 1/2 cup bread crumbs. I think the sauce was very good and helped these out alot without the sauce they needed something else. I will be making these again because I have a bunch of the rice and bean mixture left that I am freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Yummy, I added freshly minced garlic and corn, as well as s&p and chili powder. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States