Black Bean Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I'd definitely make these again - they were a hit at our fiesta. I did spread a little chipotle sauce between the cream cheese and the beans (we used canned refried beans too) for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
It was okay but nothing great. A little bland. We served it with some fruit salsa which improved it greatly. Definitely too much cream cheese. There must be a better recipe out there than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I made this for a Mexican-theme party and it was a hit. As suggested, I used a can of refried black beans instead of blending black beans - very easy! For the cheese, I used a Mexican Blend. I also served it with Amy's Cilantro sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
they where a little bland, and I would suggest not using so much cream cheese and more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
My toddlers (2 and 4yrs) love these, on the plain side. I make the bean spread very smooth, cream cheese, shredded mexican blend cheeses, tiny amount of onion or garlic salt, no salsa or spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Much easier to slice if you freeze for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Good flavors. I added fresh garlic and some tomatilla salsa to the benas before I processed them. I tried both a mini food processor and a blender and also added a lot of salsa for liquid but still had a pretty lumpy mixture. Next time to make them even quicker I am going to use canned refried black beans and just mix the cheese mixture by hand. I also use Amy's Cilantro Sauce as a a dip and both were devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Very good and very easy. I used plain Monterey Jack cheese, so it definitely could have used more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
These are so good!! A co-worker brought them to one of our office birthday parties; she told us how easy they are to make. I'll definitely make them for get-togethers or just for a quick snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I thought this recipe was ok, I don't think I ground the beans up enough, they were a little hard. I added garlic powder to the cheese mixture instead of the onion salt, and just realized I didn't add the sour cream to the mix, but that part of the wraps turned out great (the cream cheese, jack cheese and garlic powder), I will use that as a spread for crackers at a party I am having soon. I might try this recipe again and make sure I get the beans well ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States