Black Bean Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made these once for a work party and everyone RAVED and I am requested to make them often. I have since modified it and everyone still loves them. I use an entire large can of refried black beans (less fuss and easier to spread), an 8 oz block of cream cheese, 8 oz container of sour cream and a whole bag of shredded cheese. This makes about 8 burrito size rolls (80 pinwheels) with no leftover ingredients. These can also be made with reduced fat ingredients and still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by divamom74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Commerce, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was good, but next time I want to pump it up a little. I might add some turkey or chicken to cut the richness of the cheese and sour cream. Also, I put the salsa in the roll instead of serving it on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Made with whole wheat tortillas, these are fun to make and eat. I used yogurt instead of the sour cream to make them a bit lighter. Jalapeno peppers are needed as a garnish to make them colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I added a few red pepper flakes to the cheese mixture to give it a little bite. I also used canned black beans to make the whole process a little quicker and easier. I made them for a bridal shower and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cattywompuswoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
SO TASTY!Very easy,no cooking involved.I served it as a dinner not an appy.I also served it warm from the microwave.I didn't slice it up I served it whole like a burritto.I suggest using 2 tsp. of onion powder instead of 1/4 tsp.onion salt.I serve this once a week when I'm in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
These are okay. I've had better pinwheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great appetizer for a Mexican themed meal. Just what I was looking for. They're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I added some diced jalapenos and green onions, and they were still bland. I don't think I'll try these again. If I do, I'll try taco seasoning like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
very good; substitute refried black beans and save yourself a step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very yummy! I used the whole can of black beans and 7 tortillas to use all the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States