Black Bean Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made these once for a work party and everyone RAVED and I am requested to make them often. I have since modified it and everyone still loves them. I use an entire large can of refried black beans (less fuss and easier to spread), an 8 oz block of cream cheese, 8 oz container of sour cream and a whole bag of shredded cheese. This makes about 8 burrito size rolls (80 pinwheels) with no leftover ingredients. These can also be made with reduced fat ingredients and still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by divamom74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Commerce, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was good, but next time I want to pump it up a little. I might add some turkey or chicken to cut the richness of the cheese and sour cream. Also, I put the salsa in the roll instead of serving it on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Made with whole wheat tortillas, these are fun to make and eat. I used yogurt instead of the sour cream to make them a bit lighter. Jalapeno peppers are needed as a garnish to make them colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I added a few red pepper flakes to the cheese mixture to give it a little bite. I also used canned black beans to make the whole process a little quicker and easier. I made them for a bridal shower and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cattywompuswoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
SO TASTY!Very easy,no cooking involved.I served it as a dinner not an appy.I also served it warm from the microwave.I didn't slice it up I served it whole like a burritto.I suggest using 2 tsp. of onion powder instead of 1/4 tsp.onion salt.I serve this once a week when I'm in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
These are okay. I've had better pinwheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great appetizer for a Mexican themed meal. Just what I was looking for. They're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I added some diced jalapenos and green onions, and they were still bland. I don't think I'll try these again. If I do, I'll try taco seasoning like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
very good; substitute refried black beans and save yourself a step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very yummy! I used the whole can of black beans and 7 tortillas to use all the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States