Black Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I eliminated the tortillas from this recipe. It was very tasty. Next time I will saute the onions and garlic. Also, be sure to drain everything really, really well. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Excellent dish - you will only be able to eat one peice - it is very filling. A little sour cream on the side is a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe was great, although the measurements seemed a bit off to me. I only used 4 tortillas with all of the bean filling. I think adding corn to this would make it fantastic. Shredded chicken might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Overall I thought it was pretty tasty. We changed the recipe a bit - dropped the tortillas to lower the calories/fat and used salsa to replace the canned diced tomatoes to spice it up a little. I really think it needs the kick of the salsa for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Easy and economical to make. It was a bit bland for our tastes, even after adding oregeno and cumin. I will make again, but play around with an enchilada type sauce to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This makes enough filling for two pies, so, I would suggest buying 4 pie crusts. Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
We loved this!!! My pie plate wasn't very deep so I could only fit about 3 layers of the bean mix, and I used 2 tortillas per layer for full coverage (so I only used 6 torts)But the only other thing we did different was to add sour cream on top. I would definately rate this in my top 10 recipes of all times!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I thought this dish was just barely OK. I used organic black beans, the chilies were "fire roasted" (does a can of them come any other way?), and my canned tomatoes were diced but not peeled, I don't think. I had a number of mishaps along the way. I'd never crushed garlic before, and I'd only fluted one pie before, and I did a bad job of both this time, I think. I got almost all the layers done, when I realized I'd forgotten the onions, so I took it apart and added onions to each layer, so I got the assembly more or less correct. I thought this recipe was structurally awkward - 10 tortillas made the pie very tall, and I flattened the whole stack with my hands before putting on the top crust. I was surprised that it baked up OK after all. Like another reviewer, I found the inner tortillas soggy. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I've made this LOTS of times. It is one of my favorites. I make it exactly the way the recipe reads and love it! I never have sauteed the onion and garlic and mine comes out just fine. I promise you if it was the least bit raw my husband wouldn't eat raw onion!! I do, however chop it very fine with a Pampered Chef food chopper, so that might be why. I do understand what one person said about the tortillas being a bit soggy...they are...but, not enough to bother us. Perhaps if you toasted them under the broiler for a minute or two it would help?? This is a great recipe...give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This is excellent and very budget friendly! I added about a Tablespoon of pre-made fajita seasoning (Taco Seasoning would work, too). I also added a few chopped scallions. This is a keeper in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States