Black Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I eliminated the tortillas from this recipe. It was very tasty. Next time I will saute the onions and garlic. Also, be sure to drain everything really, really well. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Excellent dish - you will only be able to eat one peice - it is very filling. A little sour cream on the side is a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe was great, although the measurements seemed a bit off to me. I only used 4 tortillas with all of the bean filling. I think adding corn to this would make it fantastic. Shredded chicken might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Overall I thought it was pretty tasty. We changed the recipe a bit - dropped the tortillas to lower the calories/fat and used salsa to replace the canned diced tomatoes to spice it up a little. I really think it needs the kick of the salsa for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Easy and economical to make. It was a bit bland for our tastes, even after adding oregeno and cumin. I will make again, but play around with an enchilada type sauce to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This makes enough filling for two pies, so, I would suggest buying 4 pie crusts. Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
We loved this!!! My pie plate wasn't very deep so I could only fit about 3 layers of the bean mix, and I used 2 tortillas per layer for full coverage (so I only used 6 torts)But the only other thing we did different was to add sour cream on top. I would definately rate this in my top 10 recipes of all times!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I thought this dish was just barely OK. I used organic black beans, the chilies were "fire roasted" (does a can of them come any other way?), and my canned tomatoes were diced but not peeled, I don't think. I had a number of mishaps along the way. I'd never crushed garlic before, and I'd only fluted one pie before, and I did a bad job of both this time, I think. I got almost all the layers done, when I realized I'd forgotten the onions, so I took it apart and added onions to each layer, so I got the assembly more or less correct. I thought this recipe was structurally awkward - 10 tortillas made the pie very tall, and I flattened the whole stack with my hands before putting on the top crust. I was surprised that it baked up OK after all. Like another reviewer, I found the inner tortillas soggy. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I've made this LOTS of times. It is one of my favorites. I make it exactly the way the recipe reads and love it! I never have sauteed the onion and garlic and mine comes out just fine. I promise you if it was the least bit raw my husband wouldn't eat raw onion!! I do, however chop it very fine with a Pampered Chef food chopper, so that might be why. I do understand what one person said about the tortillas being a bit soggy...they are...but, not enough to bother us. Perhaps if you toasted them under the broiler for a minute or two it would help?? This is a great recipe...give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This is excellent and very budget friendly! I added about a Tablespoon of pre-made fajita seasoning (Taco Seasoning would work, too). I also added a few chopped scallions. This is a keeper in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States