Black Bean Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is very similar to one of my father's specialty dishes - his was made with shredded chicken. I loosely followed this recipe, having to make do with the ingredients that I had at home, and used some of my fathers techniques...I sauteed garlic and onions in a bit of oil, then added tomato sauce, a chopped up roasted red bell pepper, hot sauce, spices like tumeric, pepper and cumin, a sprinkling of sugar and a dash of apple cider vinegar. I remember really enjoying tasting the tangy sauce when biting into my fathers version...When making this, I created a sort of assembly line set up. I kept the tomato sauce simmering on low heat in a pot, and then in a frying pan, I'd heat two tortillas for a few minutes, then transer them to the tomato sauce for a few minutes, put new tortillas in the frying pan to heat up while removing the ones in the tomato sauce and layering them in my casserole dish...I layered thin strips of Meunster and creamy havarti cheese, then a layer of black beans, sliced black olives, a layer of labne (similar to sour cream) a layer of deli made salsa, then another layer of tortillas. I didn't have fresh bell peppers on hand and I didn't add the guacamole to be baked...The result was absolutely delicious comfort food that didn't make me feel heavy afterwards. Most any kind of cheese will do (I didn't layer mine on too thick), the sour cream bakes well, and some kind of peppers are necessary. Avo on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. Great and healthy recipe! I didn't use that many tortillas though. I had 12 inch tortillas and used 2-3 on the bottom and 2-3 for the middle layer. I added cayenne and sriracha to kick it up a bit. Serve with a little sour cream or plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is one of the best recipes I've come across. Even the big meat-eaters in my family love it and this is frequently requested to be brought to family gatherings. The only alteration I make is increasing the amount of guac in the recipe, but that's because we can't get enough of homemade guac and not anything wrong with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I probably won't use this recipe again. It turned out okay but just. As one reviewer said, the tortillas turn to mush in this dish and the avocados are lost in the mix. Seemed a little labor-intensive for a mediocre final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was pretty good. I completely left out the avocado because I don't know many people who are fond of hot avocado. I also left out the lemon juice because I forgot about it. I substituted a can of chipolte tomatoes and added half of a small chopped jalapeno. I think next time I'll leave out the corn tortillas and use tortilla chips afterwards to dip into the 'lasagna'. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Made w/o the avocado and salsa because I didn't have them on hand. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TaraF12
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Turned out alright. I used a can of rotel and 3 Roma tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes and salsa. I also added a can of corn for added flavor and veggies. Next time, I'm going to fry the tortillas a little in hopes that the final product isn't soggy. Tip: serge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made it for lunch. Too much onion. The flavor was overpowered by onion and corn tortilla. I didn't like it. Husband liked it. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
The interesting thing about it was that it used corn tortillas in place of noodles. The black beans offer tons of protein. The avocado offers healthy monounsaturated fat. It also had onion, tomatoes, garlic, and peppers. It was really filling and packed with nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Delicious! This was a very easy to make recipe. I added cilantro and more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States