Black Bean Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I didn't use cilantro, but added green peppers and green endive onions... very good! great for vegetarians
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Very good,though I had to make it on a day I was not working. Everyone in the family ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Delicious! Can't wait to have it for leftovers all week. You better like cilantro if you use all the recipe requires (I happen to love it)! Might also try some fresh lime juice in the bean mixture for an extra kick. Also, make sure to let stand (and set) before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This took some time to prepare, but it was worth it. Next time I will make two, one to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
My family loved this recipe and it was great as left overs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Excellent recipe. I made this last night and luckily it's good because I will be eating it for the next week! I could not find refried black beans at my supermarket, so I bought an extra can of regular black beans and mashed them before preparing that part. I also added chopped jalapenos (from a jar) to the bean mixture since I like my food on the spicy side. I added approximately a quarter cup to begin with, but ended up with something more like 1/2 by taste. I ate a leftover piece for lunch and the peppers did not warm up too much overnight. With a 1/2 c. of jalapenos (and medium salsa), I would still categorize the hotness as fairly mild. - that is my old review, and I have made this recipe many, many times since then. I've tried it with the refried black beans, and I really think it works better the way I originally made it (two regular cans, one partially mashed). It was a bit too beany with the refried beans. I am known as the vegetarian in my office, and I made it for a bunch of meat lovers there recently. No leftovers at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
this was sooooooooo good!...could live off of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This lasagna was fantastic. My husband, a meat lover, loved this vegetarian meal. I substituted black eyed peas for refried beans because I had them on hand and used whole wheat lasagna noodles. Excellent-going into permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This is a favorite at our house! I use no boil lasagna noodles to nix an extra step...works fine. I can put it together in the afternoon during kids' naps and refrigerate until ready to bake. It does have to sit a little while after baking before cutting into otherwise it's kind of runny. Super! And so worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Have made this two years in a row for christmas and is always a hit. My girlfriend loves it too. I almost always add a red & green pepper plus a jalapeno peper. As an update, I bought the "no boil" noodles on accident last time I made this. I found they took out some of the excess moisture and made it much easier to dish. I'll probably use the no-boil noodles again for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States