Black Bean Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This turned out well after a little doctoring. First I used regular burrito sized tortillas, like someone mentioned, I didn’t think pasta went well with Tex-Mex. The tortillas soak up a lot of the moisture, which helps solve the problem people are having about it not setting well. Plus the tortillas become very soft and taste very much like pasta. I didn’t use the salsa, because it was already pretty wet, but I added a packet of GOYA Sazón to the mix for flavor. I made my own refried black beans by mashing them and cooking them with garlic, lime and burrito seasoning (the kind from the packet). I also used yellow Spanish rice in the bottom two layers, I didn’t cook the rice all the way so that it could absorb some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Have made this two years in a row for christmas and is always a hit. My girlfriend loves it too. I almost always add a red & green pepper plus a jalapeno peper. As an update, I bought the "no boil" noodles on accident last time I made this. I found they took out some of the excess moisture and made it much easier to dish. I'll probably use the no-boil noodles again for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Excellent recipe. I made this last night and luckily it's good because I will be eating it for the next week! I could not find refried black beans at my supermarket, so I bought an extra can of regular black beans and mashed them before preparing that part. I also added chopped jalapenos (from a jar) to the bean mixture since I like my food on the spicy side. I added approximately a quarter cup to begin with, but ended up with something more like 1/2 by taste. I ate a leftover piece for lunch and the peppers did not warm up too much overnight. With a 1/2 c. of jalapenos (and medium salsa), I would still categorize the hotness as fairly mild. - that is my old review, and I have made this recipe many, many times since then. I've tried it with the refried black beans, and I really think it works better the way I originally made it (two regular cans, one partially mashed). It was a bit too beany with the refried beans. I am known as the vegetarian in my office, and I made it for a bunch of meat lovers there recently. No leftovers at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
My husband really liked this. I had a hard time reconciling the taste. Is it Italian or is it Mexican? I ate the leftovers today and it was good but it's missing some spice. When I tasted the sauce I thought it was bland so I threw in some basic spices before I even baked it. I think next time I'll add taco seasoning to the ricotta mixture. I added a chedder layer on top and every bite with that is really good. I think it's just a little too bland on its own. I was surprised to read that others had trouble with it being soupie. Mine set perfectly. I made sure my sauce was pretty thick before I assembled it though. Lasagna has gotten pretty old to me and this was a nice twist. Next time it gets more spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I did add extra spices (chili powder, oregano, cumin, cayenne pepper--skipped the cilantro just because I don't like it), like other reviewers suggested, and I used pepper jack cheese to get in a bit of extra kick there, plus threw some hot sauce into the bean mixture. With those changes it came out really excellent, with a good kick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This recipe was great! I made it for my carnivorous husband. We had my inlaws over to try it. They all loved it. Everyone had seconds, and my inlaws have asked for the recipe. I used whole wheat noodles, reduced-sodium/no fat pasta sause, and 1% cottage cheese. I also couldn't find re-fried black beans, so I used regular re-fried beans. I didn't have any problems with excess moisture. The difference might be that after I assembled the lasanga, the meal time was delayed by 2 hours, so I stuck everything in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This was not our favorite. I may try again, spice it up more and use flour tortillas instead of pasta. It's just something about Mexican and pasta that just doesn't mix with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
I feel like the odd ball. I was not very crazy about this dish. I thought when I read the recipe and reviews that it sounded very good and flavorful. I decided to add some chili powder, cumin and red pepper flakes give it a little kick. I still thought it tasted kind of bland and did not want to eat the leftovers. The rest of my family agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe that has become one of our staples. I also add zucchini, yellow squash, and mushrooms to the black bean/corn mixture to give it more servings of veggies and it's delicious. It's great with green onion and black olives on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My husband and his friends love this lasagna. I even made it ahead and had him take it with him to work so his buddies could eat it in the barracks. It's delicious. I did jazz it up a bit with lots of garlic, cumin, red pepper flakes, and chili powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States