Black Bean Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was very good. My family (including my vegetarian daughter) loved it! Not very appetizing to look at, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Yum YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Excellent! I added a package of taco seasoning to the tomato mix, and skipped on the corn since I didn't have any on hand. The season packet added some good flavor and a package of fajita or enchilada seasoning would probably good too. I also used a shredded mexican blend of cheese in place of the monterey jack. It's really good as leftovers too! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n00dles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was delicious! It made a ton- so I had lunch covered for most of the week. My boyfriend really liked it too- he's a meat and potatoes guy- but this was sooo yummy that until I was telling my mom how I made a vegetarian lasagna later that week, he said- when did you make that? He didn't even realized he'd been eating all veggies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I gave it 4 stars b/c I did do some tweaking as others had suggested: I used tortillas instead of lasagna noodles, I added Spanish style rice to the bean mixture, I added cumin & chili powder, and for the cheese layers I divided it up in the first 2 layers and then topped the lasagna with shredded tex-mex blend cheeses. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
We loved this dish and I will definitely make it again. I used tortillas instead of pasta (just what I had on hand, on the suggestion of others) and it turned out nicely. I used regular refried beans instead of the refried black beans, green pepper in place of the red, and I added some green onions on top. I also followed another user's tip on using half enchilada sauce and half tomato sauce and I think it gave it a nice kick. My fiance hates cilantro, unfortunately, so the enchilada sauce gave it some flavor to make up for the missing herb. I also put in half a packet of taco seasoning into the cheese mixture. It made quite a bit, and I'm looking forward to the leftovers for dinner all week. I'm also excited about changing up the recipe, using chicken, tofu, or beef to switch things up a bit. Thanks for a great recipe! New Note: last night I used pinto beans instead of black beans and it was awesome! We had guests for the weekend and they always want me to make this dish. I always happily oblige :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
A few changes and it was wonderful...we like beef, and green pepper subbed for red (only because I was out). And I used tortillas, cooked on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Used no boil noodles and baked 15 minutes longer. Topped with a combination of avacado, chopped tomatoes, cilantro and lime. Served it with a cucumber salad and it was DELICIOUS! Will become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was not a fan of this one. The flavors didn't seem to work well together for some reason. I did use regular refried beans, which could have been the problem. It just didn't make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe! I had followed other reviewer ideas added a 1/2 cup jalapenos,cumin,used hot salsa, cayenne pepper and about a 1/2 packet of taco seasoning. I like flavor overload so I just kept adding til I was happy. I used shredded mild cheddar and colby jack cheese on top as well.Everyone loved it. Will definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States