Black Bean Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I'm one of the few who did NOT find this recipe bland, however, I did make a few alterations - used cottage cheese instead of the ricotta. Added basil & oregano to the cheese. In addition to the shredded mozzarella I also used a little shredded cheddar & monterey jack. Would probably be good with added corn, too. My husband loved it, and my toddler ate a little bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Awesome vegetarian dish, and I'm a meat eater! I accidentally bought one can of black bean soup and one can of regular, and it still came out wonderfully. I also added some oregano, basil and garlic powder (I was out of minced garlic) to the cheese mixture, and the spices were subtle but tasty. I think if you add spices, this dish is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This lasagne is EXCELLENT. I live in a dorm and find that the leftovers are as good, if not better than the first meal! I add cumin and chili powder to the sauce as well as extra onion and green pepper to give it a southwestern flair. I highly recommend this as a great alternative to standard lasagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I think that this recipe had definate potential. However, for my taste it was far far too dry and bland. Next time I will add much more pepper and hot sauce and at least another can of tomato sauce! Otherwise it just gets too crumbly and dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
I prepared this for a vegetarian potluck and had rave reviews with requests for the recipe. It has an interesting blend of flavors which can be adjusted to one's own taste (hot & spicy or mild to suit you). Any time the world's pickiest eater will have seconds, you know it has to be good. This was made a head and placed in a Nesco 18 Qt roaster oven, then reheated. It actually taste better reheated and is excellent for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Pure comfort food! Of course I made a lot of changes based on what I had, personal preferences, and previous reviews: 1) Add cumin, sweet spanish paprika, and italian seasoning to the cheese mix, 2) Used one can of black beans and one can of refried beans, 3) Added 1/2 can of corn, 4) Used one large tomato instead of tomato sauce, 5) Made half a box of rotini and just mixed everything together before baking, 6) Used 2 cups shredded mexican cheese blend. Mmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe is excellent! My husband and friends all enjoyed it! The black beans really add a great flavor. I did use about a half-cup extra tomato sauce (actually, pureed canned tomatoes), and will use a bit more next time. I also made it with no-boil lasagna noodles, covered with tin foil, and baked about 10 minutes extra. Worked great. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I've been making this for years. The recipe doesn't require even the slightest modification. It's even a hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
My husband has become a vegetarian so I tried making this recipe. It was OK, but very dry and sort of bland. I added cayenne pepper and chili powder which helped the flavor, but it needed something to moisten it up. Maybe more cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
This dish was very tasty and very easy to prepare. I used the no bake lasagna noodles and made the prep time even shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States