Black Bean Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Awesome vegetarian dish, and I'm a meat eater! I accidentally bought one can of black bean soup and one can of regular, and it still came out wonderfully. I also added some oregano, basil and garlic powder (I was out of minced garlic) to the cheese mixture, and the spices were subtle but tasty. I think if you add spices, this dish is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Very good for adults and quite filling. It takes a little longer to make when the kids are running wild. They really didn't take to it, so I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clyo, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This lasagne is EXCELLENT. I live in a dorm and find that the leftovers are as good, if not better than the first meal! I add cumin and chili powder to the sauce as well as extra onion and green pepper to give it a southwestern flair. I highly recommend this as a great alternative to standard lasagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Excellent! I added roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I'm one of the few who did NOT find this recipe bland, however, I did make a few alterations - used cottage cheese instead of the ricotta. Added basil & oregano to the cheese. In addition to the shredded mozzarella I also used a little shredded cheddar & monterey jack. Would probably be good with added corn, too. My husband loved it, and my toddler ate a little bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
My husband has become a vegetarian so I tried making this recipe. It was OK, but very dry and sort of bland. I added cayenne pepper and chili powder which helped the flavor, but it needed something to moisten it up. Maybe more cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I think that this recipe had definate potential. However, for my taste it was far far too dry and bland. Next time I will add much more pepper and hot sauce and at least another can of tomato sauce! Otherwise it just gets too crumbly and dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
this is fabulous! i added some extra spices to the bean mixture because it was a little bland initially, but it turned out great. better than the meat version. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Loved it! I'm a vegetarian and really enjoyed it. My husband is a meat and potatoes kind of man and he really liked it as well. I did add chili powder and pepper to the cheese mixture and tabasco sauce to the bean mixture as one of the reviews suggested...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
I prepared this for a vegetarian potluck and had rave reviews with requests for the recipe. It has an interesting blend of flavors which can be adjusted to one's own taste (hot & spicy or mild to suit you). Any time the world's pickiest eater will have seconds, you know it has to be good. This was made a head and placed in a Nesco 18 Qt roaster oven, then reheated. It actually taste better reheated and is excellent for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States