Black Bean Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Wonderful recipe, I didn't change a thing! My husband loves black beans, but I was skeptical....then I tasted it and yum! This will become one of my new favorite recipes. You don't miss the meat at all. We used Veggie Shreds (fake cheese) for all the cheese except the ricotta, I couldn't find a substitute for that, and it still tasted amazing. This is really worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
my family thought this was excellent and we are meat eaters. i used a 28 oz can of dices tomatoes, approx 1 cup of salsa, and no-boil noodles and it wasn't dry. i also put cumin and chili powder in the cheese mixture and added extra garlic and hot sauce to the bean mixture as well as 2 c of corn. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I've been making this for years. The recipe doesn't require even the slightest modification. It's even a hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Beard Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is a favorite of mine and among my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I also found that this recipe did not have a lot of flavour. I used a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce and if I made it again, I would use that as well as a can of tomato sauce, it was a little dry. I added some spices and a jalapeno pepper to the black bean/tomato mixture for more flavour. Next time I would also mash both cans of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Good - family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Great recipe! Inspired a few changes here as well- I used one can black beans (didn't mash), one can corn... added chicken (YUMMY!), changed the tomato sauce to diced tomatoes and salsa, added mexican cheeses as well- turned out super yummy- my 3 year old loved it too. Next time I'll add in cilantro - definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This recipe was excellent! I made some modifications, but the basic concept was still the same. I used diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, 1 can of black beans instead of two (no mashing), and 2 C. frozen corn. Next time, I think I'll use salsa instead of tomatoes. Add some chopped fresh cilantro on top and it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonteity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe is excellent! My husband and friends all enjoyed it! The black beans really add a great flavor. I did use about a half-cup extra tomato sauce (actually, pureed canned tomatoes), and will use a bit more next time. I also made it with no-boil lasagna noodles, covered with tin foil, and baked about 10 minutes extra. Worked great. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This was okay, but a bit bland, and that's even despite the fact that I added hot sauce and some cheese. It required a bit of effort -- and I'd put my effort elsewhere next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States