Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made this recipe with black beans which is good and then with chickpeas which was even better. I added an extra clove of garlic ,olive oil and roasted red peppers. The best hummus and I will Be making my own hummus instead of store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My go to snack food! Hands down the best hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Added calamatas right into mixture (and some of the juice)...used peanut butter in place of tahini simply because I was out of tahini. Absolutely loved this hummus and so did the party guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is really good ad far from bland. I used a tablespoon of sesame oil in place of the tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doober Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
With the following tweaks, this recipe is 5 stars. I used lime juice instead of lemon. Dropped the tahini to 1 tbs (only because I don't like a strong tahini flavor). Upped the cumin to 1 tsp. Used 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil. Reduced salt to 1/4 tsp and used kosher salt (the salt in the bean liquid is good enough). Added a dash of onion powder and garlic powder, and used the rest of the spices as indicated in the recipe. And the most important addition of all - 1/4 cup of cilantro!! SO DELICIOUS! I think this is going to be my go-to quick recipe for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Wonderful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Does not replace regular hummus, but adds another great and healthy addition to my menus... I did not bother with the garnishes. Hubby says this is the first hummus he actually LIKED... (well, he's a little old fashioned in his food selections).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Ok, so first of all I used 3 cloves of garlic; I like garlic! I agree with the liquid, but only used 1 & 1/2 TBSP, and the same amount of olive oil, as another reviewer suggested. Also, as suggested, I rinsed the beans. I used the juice of 1 small lime, so about 1 1/2 TBSP or so. I liked the kick of cayenne; curious to see how it tastes tomorrow; in my experience, these types of things (lots of fresh, bold ingredients) need to sit together over time to truly come alive. :) Update: my hummus-obsessed work mates loved this! I did not do the olives; the flavor did mellow, and the cayenne wasn't too bold, except for one friend who is not fond of spice anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This really surprised me. If I can get past the really peculiar color of this dip, then it is actually pretty descent. I am not a big fan of hummus. I have tried countless recipes, even on this site. I have not really liked any of them. This one seems to have the perfect balance of flavors. I used Goya low-sodium beans. It was a good choice, because unlike other cans today they seem to really pack the beans to the top. Even though I tend to tweak recipes, I decided to follow this one exactly. Only change I made was cutting the amount of cayenne in half. It blended quickly in my Vitamix on speed 10, 30-40 seconds. It was very creamy, as hummus should be. When done, I even decorated with some olives as suggested. After tasting, I did drizzle a little olive oil on top, but just because I am used to seeing that on other hummus recipes. I had sweet potato and chive Mediterranean crackers, so that is what I used for dipping. Made for a healthy snack this evening. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Veggiemom
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious. It never occurred to me to use any bean other than chickpeas to make humus. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States