Black Bean Hummus with Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is delicious. I'll definitely make it again. I forgot to add the salt, which I think would have been disastrous if I had no-salt-added beans in the cupboard. Rinse your beans well and adjust your salt depending on your can's content. I was worried about the amount of tahini, but it's good. Quite yummy and looked exactly like the picture for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Yummy! If you are vegan, you can easily convert: (1) use the same amt of soft tofu (2) skip it and use another Tbsp of oil (3) use coconut milk yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe has some crazy reviews! It's not too salty or too thin. It was delicious as is! The person who thought it was too salty probably didn't rinse the beans. If you don't have greek yogurt, drain the liquid off of your yogurt when you get it and it won't be thin. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
We loved this. I hate chickpeas thus regular hummus is terrible. This was great we didn't have yoghurt so we skipped it. Didn't have lemon so substituted lime. We made our own tahini since we had 5 lbs of sesame seeds from our Korean cook adventures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I really didn't care for this at all. I love hummus and black beans, just not together, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is fantastic! My new favorite recipe on allrecipes.com. My husband even liked it and he's not a bean fan. I was surprised by the salt issue that some reviewers had but then I realized that I only used it with veggies - not salty chips. I can see reducing the amount of tahini. I may experiment with herbs or salsa or olives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
You don't need the yogurt or tahini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this with slightly less tahini and with a few tbs of milk instead of yogurt (I didn't have yogurt). It was GREAT with carrots, cucumbers, and Greek flat bread. My kids even loved it. I would recommend this recipe. Oh, the milk makes it a little runnier, ore like a dip, but the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was much better than I expected. I followed the recipe with no yogurt, and after a quick taste test added more lemon juice and salt. I also added a dash of cumin and chipotle pepper flavor. I used the amount of olive oil to get the texture I wanted which was pretty creamy. I served it with tortilla chips, but pita would work great as well as veggies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I substituted cottage cheese for the yogourt, since I didn't have plain yogourt at home. I think this may have been a mistake, since the hummus turned out very thick and pasty - my blender had a very difficult time with it and I ended up mashing a lot by hand. Overall, not a great hummus, but it was a good way to use up some extra black beans I had cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States