Black Bean Hummus with Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe has some crazy reviews! It's not too salty or too thin. It was delicious as is! The person who thought it was too salty probably didn't rinse the beans. If you don't have greek yogurt, drain the liquid off of your yogurt when you get it and it won't be thin. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
We loved this. I hate chickpeas thus regular hummus is terrible. This was great we didn't have yoghurt so we skipped it. Didn't have lemon so substituted lime. We made our own tahini since we had 5 lbs of sesame seeds from our Korean cook adventures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great taste! I used 2 cups of black beans that I had cooked from the dry beans. My whole family liked this! Next time, I will cut the salt to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is fantastic! My new favorite recipe on allrecipes.com. My husband even liked it and he's not a bean fan. I was surprised by the salt issue that some reviewers had but then I realized that I only used it with veggies - not salty chips. I can see reducing the amount of tahini. I may experiment with herbs or salsa or olives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Yummy! If you are vegan, you can easily convert: (1) use the same amt of soft tofu (2) skip it and use another Tbsp of oil (3) use coconut milk yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is delicious. I'll definitely make it again. I forgot to add the salt, which I think would have been disastrous if I had no-salt-added beans in the cupboard. Rinse your beans well and adjust your salt depending on your can's content. I was worried about the amount of tahini, but it's good. Quite yummy and looked exactly like the picture for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Fantastic little snack! I just realized I used the last of the Greek Yogurt this am, so I subbed cottage cheese. I used less tahini (I'm still new to it & getting used to it). Just a few shakes of sea salt. Really fresh tasting with the lemon. I really like it, I'd like a little kick so I'm going to add in a bit of Cayenne. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this was a big at my gathering. Has more of a "mexican flavor" rather than Greek because of the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was much better than I expected. I followed the recipe with no yogurt, and after a quick taste test added more lemon juice and salt. I also added a dash of cumin and chipotle pepper flavor. I used the amount of olive oil to get the texture I wanted which was pretty creamy. I served it with tortilla chips, but pita would work great as well as veggies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this with slightly less tahini and with a few tbs of milk instead of yogurt (I didn't have yogurt). It was GREAT with carrots, cucumbers, and Greek flat bread. My kids even loved it. I would recommend this recipe. Oh, the milk makes it a little runnier, ore like a dip, but the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States