Black Bean Hummus with Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe said. This tasted really good, but it is a bit runny. Perhaps it would be thicker if we didn't add the yogurt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I thought the tahini overpowered everything else. I think it will work well with veggies. Too salty to have with chips or crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great taste! I used 2 cups of black beans that I had cooked from the dry beans. My whole family liked this! Next time, I will cut the salt to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this was a big at my gathering. Has more of a "mexican flavor" rather than Greek because of the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
WAY too salty. Hard to get a feel for the actual taste because the salt overpowered everything. I may give it one more try without any salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Fantastic little snack! I just realized I used the last of the Greek Yogurt this am, so I subbed cottage cheese. I used less tahini (I'm still new to it & getting used to it). Just a few shakes of sea salt. Really fresh tasting with the lemon. I really like it, I'd like a little kick so I'm going to add in a bit of Cayenne. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I substituted cottage cheese for the yogourt, since I didn't have plain yogourt at home. I think this may have been a mistake, since the hummus turned out very thick and pasty - my blender had a very difficult time with it and I ended up mashing a lot by hand. Overall, not a great hummus, but it was a good way to use up some extra black beans I had cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was much better than I expected. I followed the recipe with no yogurt, and after a quick taste test added more lemon juice and salt. I also added a dash of cumin and chipotle pepper flavor. I used the amount of olive oil to get the texture I wanted which was pretty creamy. I served it with tortilla chips, but pita would work great as well as veggies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this with slightly less tahini and with a few tbs of milk instead of yogurt (I didn't have yogurt). It was GREAT with carrots, cucumbers, and Greek flat bread. My kids even loved it. I would recommend this recipe. Oh, the milk makes it a little runnier, ore like a dip, but the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
You don't need the yogurt or tahini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States