Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Good turkey chili. Cut the sugar to maybe a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a great base for a chili recipe! I made a few changes, one by accident. I sauteed the onion and 3 small chopped bell peppers in 1-2 Tbl. Olive oil before adding 1 1/2 lbs. of ground turkey. After the turkey was almost browned, I added 5 cloves of minced garlic (instead of garlic powder) and the spices (I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and omitted the sugar). I stirred those together for about 5 minutes. I then added one can of crushed tomatoes (instead of salsa), one can of black beans (drained, but not rinsed), and about a can's worth of frozen corn. I covered and let it simmer for 30 minutes. After it was almost done, I looked at the recipe and realized I forgot the chicken broth! It was a good mistake though. It would have been too watery had I added it. It definitely needed salt for flavor, but I would prefer to add that to my own bowl anyway. I garnished with plain yogurt and cheddar cheese. My kids LOVED it! My son said he'd eat it cold in his school lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This turned out well and my family liked it so much that I made it twice this week. However, next time I might tone down the chili pepper because it was too much for my preschooler. As per another reviewer's suggestion I omitted the sugar, which could explain why it was too spicy for my daughter. I know sugar helps take the edge off of spiciness. I've made it with and without corn and both work well. The one major difference though is that I used chick peas instead of black beans (because I didn't have any cooked black beans ready). Next time I will try to plan ahead and use black beans because I imagine that would taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Wonderful! Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe is great! I used 1/2 cup of roasted garlic salsa in place of the Pace and supplemented with a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. The taste and consistency was wonderful. My husband and three year old loved it. It could use a bit more chili powder for those who like a little more spice and I think I'll throw some diced green pepper in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My daughter & I liked this recipe. We followed recipe as is except substitued Tastefully Simple Wahoo seasoning for the chili powder. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Dye Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is my absolute FAVORITE chili! I have never made this without having everyone served ask for the recipe! It's so easy, you have the ingredients on hand usually, and it's a one pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was ok. Wish it had more flavor. I even doubled the required seasonings. Also instead of salsa I used one can of diced tomatoes with onions and peppers and a small can of tomato sauce and added Cheyenne pepper. Still not enough flavor! And next time I'll use half the required amount of corn. But ok for a busy night. Served with baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This recipe came in first at a fall festival. I did cut down the chili powder, and it was still spicy but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
super easy, very good! I also added a can of red kidney beans,and used a can of diced tomato with chilies instead of the salsa. Topped with sour cream and shredded cheese... so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States