Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Good turkey chili. Cut the sugar to maybe a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a great base for a chili recipe! I made a few changes, one by accident. I sauteed the onion and 3 small chopped bell peppers in 1-2 Tbl. Olive oil before adding 1 1/2 lbs. of ground turkey. After the turkey was almost browned, I added 5 cloves of minced garlic (instead of garlic powder) and the spices (I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and omitted the sugar). I stirred those together for about 5 minutes. I then added one can of crushed tomatoes (instead of salsa), one can of black beans (drained, but not rinsed), and about a can's worth of frozen corn. I covered and let it simmer for 30 minutes. After it was almost done, I looked at the recipe and realized I forgot the chicken broth! It was a good mistake though. It would have been too watery had I added it. It definitely needed salt for flavor, but I would prefer to add that to my own bowl anyway. I garnished with plain yogurt and cheddar cheese. My kids LOVED it! My son said he'd eat it cold in his school lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This turned out well and my family liked it so much that I made it twice this week. However, next time I might tone down the chili pepper because it was too much for my preschooler. As per another reviewer's suggestion I omitted the sugar, which could explain why it was too spicy for my daughter. I know sugar helps take the edge off of spiciness. I've made it with and without corn and both work well. The one major difference though is that I used chick peas instead of black beans (because I didn't have any cooked black beans ready). Next time I will try to plan ahead and use black beans because I imagine that would taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Wonderful! Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe is great! I used 1/2 cup of roasted garlic salsa in place of the Pace and supplemented with a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. The taste and consistency was wonderful. My husband and three year old loved it. It could use a bit more chili powder for those who like a little more spice and I think I'll throw some diced green pepper in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My daughter & I liked this recipe. We followed recipe as is except substitued Tastefully Simple Wahoo seasoning for the chili powder. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Dye Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is my absolute FAVORITE chili! I have never made this without having everyone served ask for the recipe! It's so easy, you have the ingredients on hand usually, and it's a one pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was ok. Wish it had more flavor. I even doubled the required seasonings. Also instead of salsa I used one can of diced tomatoes with onions and peppers and a small can of tomato sauce and added Cheyenne pepper. Still not enough flavor! And next time I'll use half the required amount of corn. But ok for a busy night. Served with baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This recipe came in first at a fall festival. I did cut down the chili powder, and it was still spicy but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
super easy, very good! I also added a can of red kidney beans,and used a can of diced tomato with chilies instead of the salsa. Topped with sour cream and shredded cheese... so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States