Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made the salad part as written, pretty much the same with the dressing, but I added alittle more stuff to it. I added about a 1/4 of a cup of balsamic vinager, about a TBSP. of brown sugar, 1/4 tsp. of cumin. I'll make this again. I diffently think this is a great topping for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used key limes and it was too bitter so I added a spoonful of sugar. Tasted great. This is a great fix and leave in the fridge to munch on all week recipe. Oh and if your like me and you don't like it to be too spicy de-seed your jalapeno before mincing. That's where most of the spice is. I did this and it came out just right. Oh and a Jimica is a round root thingy that has the taste/texture of a cross between an apple and a potato. Get a small one or it'll take over the salad. Mine was waay to big and it suffered for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was fabulous! Got many compliments on this dish! I left out both the bell and jalp. peppers b/c my husband hates peppers. Turned out I didn't miss them at all. The jicima however was essential! It gave the salad a nice crisp, crunch. Totally unexpected but very refreshing. Also, you could easily reduce the cheese and oil for a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
We made this tonight for a quick vegetarian dinner and it was delicious. Substituted daikon for jimica since we happened to have one in the fridge and skipped the jalapeno but otherwise we stayed true to the recipe and really enjoyed it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I left out the jalapenos & put in orange bell peppers instead of green bell peppers. This is a delicious salad. Great on a hot summer evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Perfect salad for that great grilled steak, chicken, or even burger. Didn't change a thing, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this for a family get together and everyone loved it. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was delicious along side Jay's Jerk Chicken. I could not find jicama in my market so subsituted 1 japanese cucumber diced. Instead of using fresh corn, sweet frozen corn was much less work. Like others, I reduced the oil in the dressing to about 1/4 cup and added a few splashes of blood orange balsamic vinegar. It tasted great right away, but even better marinated overnight as instructed. This is a great side to any grilled meat dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann & Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Lovely for a summer it's too hot meal!! I reduced oil to 1/4 c. and added fresh mint to dressing, oops I forgot the mustard. I will make this over & over, so many ways to change it up. I think it would be great with salmon! I will take this to our family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammycindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe! I used frozen corn and toasted it in the oven under the broiler. That adds a nice toasty crunch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States