Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe got a lot of compliments. Including a request for the recipe. Very tasty. I didn't know what a jicama was but it didn't seem to matter. Also once I made it with black eyed beans instead of black beans and that was fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was a huge hit at our cookout last weekend!! Some thought it to be too spicy but I thought it was just right! Thanks for the recipe, it's being passed on to many friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used key limes and it was too bitter so I added a spoonful of sugar. Tasted great. This is a great fix and leave in the fridge to munch on all week recipe. Oh and if your like me and you don't like it to be too spicy de-seed your jalapeno before mincing. That's where most of the spice is. I did this and it came out just right. Oh and a Jimica is a round root thingy that has the taste/texture of a cross between an apple and a potato. Get a small one or it'll take over the salad. Mine was waay to big and it suffered for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was fabulous! Got many compliments on this dish! I left out both the bell and jalp. peppers b/c my husband hates peppers. Turned out I didn't miss them at all. The jicima however was essential! It gave the salad a nice crisp, crunch. Totally unexpected but very refreshing. Also, you could easily reduce the cheese and oil for a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe was a hit at a barbeque. I used a lot less oil (about 1/2 cup). Next time I might add another jalapeno pepper. But It was good as is and very colourful. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I don't see how anyone can eat this with a full cup of olive oil. I used half, as others suggested and it was still too much dressing. I recommend using 1/2 cup olive oil, then add the dressing a little at a time, and check according to your taste. I did love the combination of flavors of the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
We made this tonight for a quick vegetarian dinner and it was delicious. Substituted daikon for jimica since we happened to have one in the fridge and skipped the jalapeno but otherwise we stayed true to the recipe and really enjoyed it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Because I omitted the jicama, I think I should have used less olive oil. I only used about 3 oz. of feta and that seemed to be plenty for me. This was good - very light yet filling for a great summer lunch. We'll be having this again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Excellent! Reduced the amount of olive oil to a couple tbsp. and increased the lime juice to 1/2 cup. Also added lime zest to the salad. I had to substitute a chayote for the jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was good although I wasn't amazed by it or anything. I wish it was a tad spicier so I'll prob add an extra jalapeño if I make it again. This is just the type of dish that would be great to take to a pot luck or a cook out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States