Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is absolutely amazing! The little market close to my house didn't have jicama, but I did have some regular old radishes, so I used those. Added a nice color, plus got 'em out of the fridge. Next time I can hunt down jicama, however, totally going for that! The only other change I made was using less oil and I used green and yellow bell peppers. Took it to a BBQ and got "I think this was my favorite dish out of all!" from one guest. Definitely looking forward to the leftovers all week. Yum. Just...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious. The jicama makes it. I doubled the recipe it for a BBQ and people loved it. I reduced the amount of olive oil in the recipe and added some fresh coriander but other than that, left the recipe as is. Just a great (and healthy recipe!). Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corks73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Really liked this recipe, but added 2 chopped avocados to mine. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this for a potluck, super easy and tasty! The jicama is necessary for the perfect blend of textures and crunch. I used the following variations: frozen corn, cherry tomatoes quartered, red and yellow bell peppers to equal 1 whole, about 4 oz feta cheese (more would be overpowering), and about 3/4 bunch green onions. I found these proportions to be perfect. Tips: pick a small jicama, about the size of a fist. If using frozen corn, let thaw separately and drain the water. Use fresh lime juice - the one in the plastic lime does not have the right flavors and you won't be able to taste lime in the dressing. The reason for the 1 star deduction: I don't see how anyone could use an entire cup of oil for this dressing without it being a soupy, oily mess. I'm so glad I used 1/4 cup oil, which was plenty. But if I hadn't read the other reviews, I would have wasted so much oil and the salad would have been inedible. Use 1/4 cup oil, trust me on this. I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly - about 1/2 tsp mustard, 1/2 tsp minced garlic or less. Lime juice, pepper and salt stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was a fabulous, fresh tasting salad! I did not add feta cheese since my husband is not fond of it, but, one could easily sprinkle it on. I did add red and orange peppers because I had them on hand and figured "why not"? Thank you for a great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was really awesome! Next time I will not add so much oil...it was really unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I made exactly as directed, except I used frozen corn, cherry tomatoes, and I only used about 4 ounces of Feta cheese. It came out very good. It had a nice kick from the jalapeno pepper. I had never used jicama before, and I really liked the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I really liked this and got a lot of compliments when I made it. But the first time I made it it was inedible, 1 cup of oil is way, way too much- I left out the jicama and maybe that was why? The next time I cut it back to 1/4 cup of oil and used 1/2 a red onion and shredded havarti instead of feta- everyone liked it that time. Oh, and I used 1 cup of frozen corn. But overall I really do like this recipe and like I said, lots of compliments at office and church potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
First time using jicama in a recipe. My husband and I both like this recipe. I halved the dressing and also added some cilantro I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States