Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe got a lot of compliments. Including a request for the recipe. Very tasty. I didn't know what a jicama was but it didn't seem to matter. Also once I made it with black eyed beans instead of black beans and that was fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was a huge hit at our cookout last weekend!! Some thought it to be too spicy but I thought it was just right! Thanks for the recipe, it's being passed on to many friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Love this salad!! Made it frequently all last summer and plan to do same again this year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Wow, this is awesome! It's very colorful, too, which makes it as delicious to look at as it is to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was good although I wasn't amazed by it or anything. I wish it was a tad spicier so I'll prob add an extra jalapeño if I make it again. This is just the type of dish that would be great to take to a pot luck or a cook out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe was a hit at a barbeque. I used a lot less oil (about 1/2 cup). Next time I might add another jalapeno pepper. But It was good as is and very colourful. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Because I omitted the jicama, I think I should have used less olive oil. I only used about 3 oz. of feta and that seemed to be plenty for me. This was good - very light yet filling for a great summer lunch. We'll be having this again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is a good combination of flavors with a nice, zippy dressing. I used half the lime juice and oil, and subbed roasted Hatch green chiles for the jalapeno. The feta is a great touch, and I like that the beans aren't the main feature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made the salad part as written, pretty much the same with the dressing, but I added alittle more stuff to it. I added about a 1/4 of a cup of balsamic vinager, about a TBSP. of brown sugar, 1/4 tsp. of cumin. I'll make this again. I diffently think this is a great topping for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used key limes and it was too bitter so I added a spoonful of sugar. Tasted great. This is a great fix and leave in the fridge to munch on all week recipe. Oh and if your like me and you don't like it to be too spicy de-seed your jalapeno before mincing. That's where most of the spice is. I did this and it came out just right. Oh and a Jimica is a round root thingy that has the taste/texture of a cross between an apple and a potato. Get a small one or it'll take over the salad. Mine was waay to big and it suffered for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States