Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I served this salad at a Memorial Day party and it was a hit, I had several people ask for the recipe. I made it exactly the way the recipe is written except I cut the oil in half. Will definitely make it again! Oh, and as for the Jicama, I had never heard of it but am now a fan, although you really do only need a small one for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Loved it! We used half the jicama, half the olive oil and added a diced avocado and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Sorensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Big hit at the Memorial Day BBQ. Used only a half cup oil and added a little extra lime juice. I was hesitant about using the whole jalepeno, but it was just fine (omitted the seeds). I've loved jicama for a long time, but never thought of shredding it for salad until I had it that way at a fancy restaurant last week. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! This makes a great summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
awesome!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
less oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I don't really care for beans or corn, but thought this looked interesting, so tried it. Someone said that they did not find it "amazing", but I totally did! It is truly great. I made my dressing as described, except only used 3/4 cup of oil. Next time I will make it 1/2 cup of oil, and half the lime as well as it is a tad overpowering and a bit oily tasting. Even with those flaws. It is still great. Other changes would be to add a bit more salt, as I think it needs it, and again 1/2 the required dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great blend of cool, flavorful, fresh, crispness. I only used 4 oz of Feta and 1/2 C olive oil with good results. Also added salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My husband and I thought this salad was awesome! I love Jicama, of course, so I knew I'd like it, but I wasn't sure if he would. He raved about it. We both could have kept eating it to the point of making ourselves miserable--instead we saved the leftovers for lunch. :-) I didn't have any green onion so I substituted about 1/3 of a sweet onion, and I had to use cherry tomatoes sliced in half. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Left out the jalapenos, reduced the oil - I LOVE this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Espy

Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States