Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This is delicious! Don't let all the fresh ingrediants discourage you from trying it. I have made this seveal times now, but I use canned corn and tomatoes and it tastes great! I use one can if diced tomatoes, and one can of Mexican tomatoes and chilis (instead of the jalapeno). I serve it with cheese quesadillas. Yum! It's kinda like the Tex-Mex version of tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches. I garnish with sour cream and chopped red onion. The first time I made this I thought the step where you puree half of it was strange, but it really adds to the texture. Don't skip this step if you can! I have actually done that to some other dishes since then, it's a good trick. Really beefs it up. This is a wholesome, hearty meal, a good change from the tradional chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I sauteed a little garlic with the vegetables in the beginning. I also used 1 red bell pepper, eliminated the jalapeno pepper, chopped the mushrooms into small chunks because they were large, used frozen corn niblets, and only used 1/2 tsp. of cumin. I didn't bother pureeing some of the chili either. It was tasty as chili, especially with some shredded cheddar as a topping. Another time though when I reheated it, I added an extra cup of chicken broth to the leftovers as well as some cooked brown rice. I think I actually preferred it this way as a yummy black bean soup. Of course, when adding more liquid, you can adjust the seasoning to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
As a US student studying in Norway for a year, I promised my scandinavian friends some good american chili. I chose to make it without meat because of its high cost here. Of course, because I had never made chili before, I turned to this site. We all agreed that it turned out quite well. I changed but a few things based on availability and cost differences here (no jalapeno or broth, used canned tomatoes and corn, substituted one can black beans with red salad beans, added zucchini, garlic and carrots), and it turned out great. It was perhaps a bit too spicy for the average person, but I liked it just fine, and my international friends were impressed. I think it is not quite 8 servings though. I fed 5 other people and had just a small bowl leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I operate several Community Kitchens projects and have done this recipe with each of them. It has been a huge hit. No changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Good, tasty recipe for no meat chili. Did not add the corn and added double mushrooms and tomatoes (personal preference). Will definitely make again and try different chili peppers to kick up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My husband -- NOT a lover of meatless dinners -- raved about this chili! I served it with pico de gallo and sour cream as a garnish. Yum! It's a great alternative to our typical beef chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
If you love black beans and a thick chilli then you'll love this recipe. it was perfect and the leftovers were even better! i added more corn and a little bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaCh L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Fun to make and eat. Does freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This is sooo tasty! (I used vegetable broth since I'm a vegan.). Family and I both looved it! Making it again tonight. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Great flavor. I added a yellow bell pepper and some garlic. It's wonderful for a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States