Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
I made this recipe for a work-related fundraiser (30 servings), and it was a BIG HIT for the vegetarians, non-vegetarians, those counting calories, and those who liked a good-tasting alternative to meat chili. (I passed on the recipe and this website to many!) My family liked it the night we made it but it tasted better after it sat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This chili is a keeper! I added some cooked chicken to the chili. This recipe is very versitile, it's a nice addition to eggs for breakfast and tasty filling for tortillas for lunch or dinner. If you have a craving for spicy lowfat mexican food - this one will fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona Lake, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This chili recipe is AWESOME and SO EASY. I add a bit more salt and some sugar but the essentials are in the recipe. Fresh veggies make it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Far too much cumin for my taste...just didn't like the flavor at all. Will not be making it again...even lessening the cumin probably would not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
This recipe was really simple, and I thought it tasted good. It made a great camping meal over the campfire. Next time I would make sure that the portion I puree doesn't have any mushrooms in it, because the little flecks of pureed mushroom looked a little strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This was my first attempt at making chili and it turned out great. Loved everything about it. Quick, Easy and very yummy. My husband really enjoyed it too. We topped it with some shredded chedder. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This was quick and easy, both my husband and I loved it! To make it fit more closely into the "Vegetarian" category I used Vegetable Stock instead of Chicken Stock. Also, to kick it up a notch I added more chili powder. This is going to be a regular dish at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This is sooo tasty! (I used vegetable broth since I'm a vegan.). Family and I both looved it! Making it again tonight. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
yummy! I didn't bother with the cumin and just made it hot (as opposed to spicy). Lots of peppers, lots of cayenne=yum yum yum! tastes great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Very good recipe--a keeper. Very flavorful. Used canned, diced tomatoes, canned corn, and less cumin than it called for, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States