Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Well with the mixed reviews on spicyness this I was surprised. I had to add more jalepeno to increase it becuase I thought it needed more ummph! Also I added some steak because I am a mom of 4 boys who crave it. However for the vegetarians out there, use veggie broth and to thicken it instead of pureeing it You could add half a cup of wheat germ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I'm not sure if I did something wrong or not, but I found the spices in this recipe to be overpowering. My boyfriend and I both had watery eyes by the time we were through with a bowl of it! I made the following adjustment, per the suggestion of another user: used one can diced tomatoes in place of fresh roma, and one can Rotel in place of the jalapeno (to add more tomato and add just a little more kick). I think I will make this again, but next time I will drastically reduce the amount of pepper and chili powder I add to it. Overall, I think this is a delicious recipe and I will definitely make it again. Next time I am going to add another can of black beans (because we love them so much), and a shredded rotisserie chicken. Also, definitely try to puree some of it if you can - this really adds to the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Good, hearty chili that is a hit every time! I have made this several times and like to serve it over rice or couscous - both are good - and sprinkle a little cheese over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I love it. I wouldn't change a thing. It's great over hot dogs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I liked feeding this to my family because it is so healthy. However, I found it needed a little more zip. So I added a few spices of my own. And YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
THE BEST!!!! IT is AWESOME!!! Really hits the spot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was amazing. I made it on a whim for my husband and his friend - both thought the recipe contained meat! Other than leaving out the mushrooms, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a great (and quick) recipe! I skipped the mushrooms and used extra hot Rotel instead of fresh tomatoes. It's so good over rice with a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I made this for my meat-eating family and they loved it! I used all fresh vegetables though, except I did cheat and use frozen corn. I added in 1 fresh diced green bell pepper (for color) and a generous amount of Frank's Red Hot Sauce. I would totally make this again. Don't skip the last step! I only have a blender (no food processor) but trust me, pureeing half the soup makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
delicious! I even used canned everything. I used 2 cans of diced tomato. I used frozen corn. I would love to try this with fresh veggies since it is so good with canned ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States